Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Authors in Genre X

 

It’s been a long and busy day and I just now starting to think about this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, sponsored by The Broke and the Bookish. I don’t really think humor is an official genre like science fiction or mysteries, but that’s the list I want to make. For everyone looking for an anti-Halloween read, this is the list for you! No spooks here, just lots of laughs. Come back next week for spooks!

1. Rick Riordan-Β  Sure he has the action/adventure thing down too, but for me the real treat is the humor.

2. E. Lockhart- Frankie Landau-Banks and Ruby Oliver are both good for a laugh!

3. L.A. Meyer-Jackey Faber, my favorite heroine is hilarious.

4. Kiersten White- Evie from Paranormalcy is a bleeping riot!

5. Gordon Korman- Laugh out loud moments in No More Dead Dogs, Pop, and Born to Rock. He’s a funny guy!

6. Rosemary Clement-Moore- I will read anything and everything she writes!

7. Libba Bray-I mean, have you read Going Bovine or Beauty Queens? HI-larious.

 

8. Markus Zusak- Are you wondering if I have lost my marbles? The Book Thief is not funny. I know, but Ed Kennedy, hero of I am the Messenger is!

9. Lish McBride- I just finished Hold Me Closer, Necromancer and there is a witness to the fact that I was laughing out loud in public while reading this one.

10. Martin Leicht- This is one to watch guys! His debut, Mothership, is the funniest thing I have read in ages. Could. Not. Stop. Laughing.

Ok, brain is mushy. I go now.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Authors in Genre X

  1. Awesome list! I love books that make me laugh. I totally agree, Rick Riordan books have a lot of humor. I mean the chapter titles in Percy Jackson were hilarious!

    I will read anything by Rosemary Clement-Moore too! I loved Texas Gothic so much. I can’t wait to read Spirit and Dust next spring.

    I plan on reading Hold Me Closer, Necormancer really soon. I am glad to hear it is funny.

    Here’s my TTT

  2. I love books with humor in them so thanks for the list! πŸ™‚ My TTT was on Top Ten Contemporary YA Authors:
    http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/top-ten-favorite-contemporary-ya-authors/

  3. So I haven’t read Going Bovine but I’m mildly obsessed with Beauty Queens. I’m worried I might be disappointed! Thoughts?!

    • Going Bovine is very strange and I had a hard time getting into the book, BUT once I got the audio it all came together and I was able to appreciate it for all of it’s bizarre awesomeness. I definitely recommend listening.

  4. I love E. Lockhart. Ruby was so funny and kind of crazy, but in a good way! An awesome character!

  5. The Ruby Oliver books are some of my favorite books ever! I adore Ruby. She’s such a hilarious main character. And Evie is such a bleeping riot. πŸ˜€ These girls are some of my favorite protagonists in YA.

  6. I love so many of these! Bloody Jack is bloody hilarious! And Hold Me Closer, definitely funny! I also enjoyed Mothership and did a LOT of laughing! Fantastic list of funny books!

  7. Percy Jackson is forever awesome! And I’ve been meaning to pick up Paranormalcy because it looks awesome!

  8. Hurrah for funny books! Ruby Oliver is definitely one of my favourite series of books. and I LOVED I am the Messenger and Going Bovine. Loved your list πŸ™‚

  9. Okay so this reply hasn’t got anything to do with this post but I thought I’d write it under the newest entry so you’ll be most likely to see πŸ™‚
    So- I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while now, I bookmarked it on my iPod and whenever I feel like reading a good bookish blog yours is among the ones I check πŸ™‚
    So now I was thrilled to read that you are the oldest of eight children – so am I!!! It’s got to be destiny that we are such bookworms πŸ˜‰ soo cool! And I also wanted to say that I enjoyed reading about the 24h bookathon, never heard of it before; think I’ll hold my own unofficial one soon, might only be a 12-20 hours one though πŸ˜‰ thanks for inspiring me! xx

Leave a Reply

