Mondays With Megan Confessions of an Audiobook Junkie and What Are You Reading?

So, I am afraid that I have become incapable of driving a car unless there is a book on CD playing. True story. Last week I knew the library would be closed on Thursday and that I was going to be off Friday-Sunday, so on Wednesday night I made sure to have all the reading and listening materials that I would need to get me through the weekend (sometimes I do actually think and plan ahead). Well, imagine my distress when on Thursday afternoon I discovered that the new book I intended to start DID NOT WORK. It happens, I know, but what was I supposed to do? How was I supposed to drive my car? Was I destined to listen to the radio? Let me tell you. I went to a different library. I so lucky to live in such a library rich environment (YAY Ohio!). We have two major library systems with branches all over the place and plenty of independent libraries (like where I work). This mini-crisis was just the kick in the pants I needed to explore the little branch library that is within walking distance to my house. So, now that my crazy is all out there, let’s move on. Would you like to know what book I ended up with?

As always, thanks to Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for one of my favorite list making memes, It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater-Superb. I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin. The fourth volume in the series, this one wasn’t a fan favorite, but I really enjoyed the change in perspective and different character POVs.

Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters by Meredith Zeitlin. Ruby Oliver with lots of booze. Cute and fun.

Currently Reading:

Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen-This is the BOCD from a different library! I was just saying I haven’t read enough Sarah Dessen. Win-win!

Breathe by Sarah Crossan- I picked this up yesterday and will probably finish today. I picked it for our science fiction genre discussion and I am really enjoying it. It’s fast-paced and not fussy. Does that make sense?

To Start:

Eve and Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate-Super excited about this one. Love me some M.G.

A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin-I want to pause and read other things, but darn it, the characters just won’t let me! There’s no turning back now. I MUST know where [redacted] has been! I will take the plunge this week and get started.

On Hold:

Unwind by Neal Shusterman- I started this over the weekend and realized that I must have started it sometime in the past. And I seemed to have set it back down at about the same spot. Not sure why this one is clicking. I am going to keep working on it because I really want to know more about this crazy post-civil war U.S., but it’s not going to be my main book this week.

I am excited about my reading week. What are you reading?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

3 responses to “Mondays With Megan Confessions of an Audiobook Junkie and What Are You Reading?

  1. Ha! I had to laugh about your anecdote about panicking about not having an audio book for your car. While audio books are not my thing, I feel the same way if I don’t have a book or something to read. I would just hate to be sitting in a doctor’s office or waiting for an appointment and not have a book in my hands. You are right about living in NE Ohio. We are truly blessed to have the great library systems!

  2. You’re reading/have read/are going to read such amazing books! I want to read The Raven Boys, Breathe and Eve and Adam!

    Happy reading!
    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Ruby Oliver + booze sounds like THE BEST THING EVER!!!

Leave a Reply

