Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Spooktacular

Despite my growing aversion to scary movies (total wimp), I do love a good creepy book. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and The Bookish, is all about books that will get you in the Halloween spirit. This week I am including books that I haven’t read yet and it will definitely be longer than ten. It happens. I have recently read two super creepy books and I definitely recommend them! Ten by Gretchen McNeil is terrifying murder mystery that I compulsively read in one sitting. The Diviners by Libba Bray continues to haunt me, weeks after finishing it. It’s the song. Oh, that song. And the good old-fashioned occult murders, of course. So. Definitely read those.

How about some ghost stories?

1. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. I read this last year around Halloween and it was certainly spooky. I still need to read Girl of Nightmares.

2. Haunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey. Historical paranormal romance. BUT-there is a scene with the ghost that is super creepy.

3. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. Jack the Ripper is back and terrorizing London! Or is he? I cannot wait for the next Shades of London book.

4. Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender. Don’t you just hate it when you have to live with a bratty and possessed little sister? Ugh. I really enjoyed this one and need to read the next two, From Bad to Cursed and As Dead as it Gets.

5. Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore. This is a Scooby-doo-esque ghost story. Lots of fun! Another great ghost story from this author is The Splendor Falls. That one is more of a southern gothic ghost story.

Now for the ones that I haven’t read, but really should. Also, some non-girly ones.

6. The Light by D.J. MacHale. From the author of the Pendragon series (also need to read!), comes the Morpheus Road Trilogy, starring a sixteen-year-old boy who finds himself haunted and hunted by ghosts.

7. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. I can’t believe I haven’t read this one about the boy raised in a graveyard by ghosts!

8. On the Day I Died by Candace Fleming. This collection of short stories is on my TBR list!

9. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I lied, I read this one and really enjoyed it. I was totally surprised by the ghost. Did not see that coming.

10. Beyond: A Ghost Story by Graham McNamee. This is a new one that I want to read. Jane’s shadow is trying to kill her? Sounds creepy! And look at the cover:

Well, that’s all from me today. It’s weird to not include zombies or demons or vampires on this list, but I am pleased with my ghost story list. What spooky books are you reading?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Spooktacular

  1. I haven’t read too many creepy books. I definitely need to read Anna Dressed in Blood, Ten is at the top of my TBR list. I have read The Name of the Star and Raven Boys. Those were pretty good.

    Check out my TTT.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  2. I love love LOVED The Diviners! The Naughty John song is seriously haunting me. It’s constantly playing in my head! And I just started reading Ten, which I really like so far.
    Great list! I’ll have to add some of these to my TBR pile!
    My Top Ten

  3. Great picks! I haven’t read a lot of those but the Bad Girls Don’t Die look uber creepy!
    Thanks for stopping into my top ten as well πŸ™‚

  4. You have some great picks here. I really want to read The Name of the Star. Got to get on that. πŸ˜€

  5. I’m reading The Diviners right now, and I seriously did not realize how creepy it was until after I started reading it. And I really enjoyed The Name of the Star. Great picks!

    Thanks for visiting my top ten.

  6. Great top 10 πŸ™‚ The Light was so creepy, so you have to read it! I’m actually planning on re-reading it after I finish re-reading The Graveyard Book, and then of course The Black & The Blood – it’s time I finish the trilogy πŸ˜€ Haven’t read the rest, although they’re all on my tbr list!

  7. Great list of new titles. I don’t like creepy books, but did like The Name of the Star. Ooh, Petrucha’s Ripper is good to go along with that one!

  8. I’m totally with you on scary movies, but also on creepy books. I am so easily affected that I have nightmares and get really freaked out. That being said, I sometimes enjoy a nice psychological thriller. Great list.

  9. Ten and Anna Dressed In Blood are going on my TBR list! Oooo – thanks for reminding me about that Neil Gaiman book! I had wanted to read it!

Leave a Reply

