Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian Review

Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
Simon & Schuster
September 18, 2012
368 pgs

Kat, Lillia, Mary are three very different girls with one thing in common: they are out for revenge. Kat is tired of the jokes and insults that come from being from “the wrong side” of Jar Island. Lillia is fiercely protective of her little sister and one guy is going to find out the hard way not to mess with her. Mary actually left the island four years about after a traumatic experience with a classmate. Now she’s back and ready to prove to her tormentor that she is a different person and ready for revenge. These three girls have no reason to be friends, but they’ve formed an unlikely alliance in order to exact revenge on the people who have hurt them most. They are united, determined, and will stop at nothing. Will revenge be sweet or will they go too far?

I read tons of YA books and for the most part the fact that the characters are teens does not affect how I enjoy the story. That was not the case with Burn for Burn. As an adult I felt really uncomfortable with the girls’ plans for revenge. That being said, I do understand why the girls thought they deserved to exact revenge. Their stories bullying are not groundbreaking, but they are powerful and painful. Teens will be able to relate to and want to read this book, and ultimately that is the goal. This book will certainly resonate with its target audience. The subtle supernatural element surprised me and I am definitely interested to see how things will play out in the sequel.

Readalikes: Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers, The Hate List by Jennifer Brown, and Boys, Girls, and Other Hazardous Material by Rosalind Wiseman

This book was provided by the publisher and NetGalley.com for review.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s