Monday’s With Megan-Meanie Moms Edition and What Are You Reading?

With Hurricane Sandy wreaking havoc on weather everywhere (even in Ohio!) my Friday off turned out to be the perfect reading day. I was excited to pack up a bag and head to my favorite reading spot for an afternoon of tasty treats and reading. Curled up in a cozy, curved seat with a bowl of soup and a latte I managed to zip through a book and a half! I finished Eve and Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate and dove right into My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick (I ended up finishing this 400 page book around midnight. Could. Not. Stop.) As I drove home, listening to Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen, I realized that these three very different books had one thing in common: meanie moms! Meanie Mom #1 from Eve and Adam is Terra Spiker, a billionaire mad scientist who totally hates her daughter’s BFF and has no problem voicing her dislike. Meanie Mom #2 from My Life Next Door is Senator Grace Reed, a trust fund baby who, from her high horse, refers to the boisterous Garrett family next door as “those people.” Her daughters both know that they are not to fraternize with the Garretts. Meanie Mom #3 from Along For the Ride is Victoria West, a genius scholar and author who frowns upon her daughter’s decision to spend the summer at the beach with her father. Mommy West also frowns upon the new wife, the new baby, the color pink…the list goes on. Thankfully Evening Spiker, Samantha Reed, and Auden West do not blindly obey mommy dearest. What’s the fun in that?! I know I enjoyed watching everyone butt heads.

That is just the beginning of my current reading adventures. Let’s check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for this week’s It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

I finished a ton of books last week!

Finished:

I am a little off my pace with my reading goal this year *shake fist at George R.R. Martin and amazing and looooong books* So I am trying to boost my numbers with graphic novels. Chi’s Sweet Home is totally adorable. I really loved the illustrations in Hope Larson’s adaptation of A Wrinkle in Time.

I managed to get a few walks in last week and so I finally finished my Playaway. This book was a surprise. It’s charming and lazy and then…BAM…crazytown.

I also finished three novels. Loved them all, especially My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. Fast, fun reads!

Currently Reading/Listening to:

I LOVED Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride and I am excited to have the sequel, Necromancing the Stone, but it might be slow going because I am going to start A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin and it might take over all my reading time!

That’s all for me! Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Along for the Ride

started

necromancing the stone

5 responses to “Monday’s With Megan-Meanie Moms Edition and What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow, you’ve read a bunch. I just bought the graphic A Wrinkle In Time, & look forward to it. I run out of time, too, but have put on the list the book you seemed to like a lot, My Life Next Door. Hope I’ll have time to read. I’ve heard of Eve And Adam, but just may not get to it. Thanks!

  2. Isn’t it strange to find connections between books? I read two books in the last two weeks that had horrible step-mothers. One got her comeuppance, the other lost interest in her family and walked away. There wasn’t much butting heads in the books I read, but you are right, that does sometimes make for good reading!

  3. Meanie Moms are just part of the whole middle-graders-as-orphans thing. I guess I would rather they be absent than mean!

  4. I love Sarah Dessen’s books and I really want to read My Life Next Door. I am hoping to get caught up on the Song of Ice and Fire series next year. I loved A Game of Thrones but the books are really long.

    I have a feeling that this weekend will be great for staying indoors and reading too. It has only been a few days since Indian Summer ended but I miss the sun already!

  5. Some great books last/this week! Enjoy reading them!

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

