Mondays With Megan-I Have Dragons On My Mind!

Happy Monday! My Hurricane Sandy clean-up is almost complete. Now, if I could just get a sunny, dry day to do some yard work…Waiting for things to dry out is a great excuse to read. Like I need an excuse to ignore housework in order to read…

I have finally made it to A Dance With Dragonsย by George R.R. Martin, so you know that is just about the only thing I am reading. And thinking about. But I do have a few things to report, because it’s Monday and Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts want to know what I am reading.

First a confession. I abandoned a book this week. I gave up on listening to A Wrinkle in Time, read by Madeleine L’Engle herself! I clearly remember loving this book as a kid. As an adult I found it to be a pretentious snooze-fest. Yikes! I gave it up so that I can continue to love it through child-like glasses (a distant cousin of both rose-colored glasses and the black sheep of the family, beer goggles). Meg Murray, I loved you once and will treasure your memory, but we don’t really need to keep in touch.

Finished:

ย 

Currently Reading:

Currently Listening To:

I am still of pace to meet my Goodreads goal, so I may try to sneak some more graphic novels in this week and Dragons is going much quicker than I had expected so I am still hopeful that I will make my goal. What are you working on this week?

Happy Reading!

หœMegan

12 responses to “Mondays With Megan-I Have Dragons On My Mind!

  1. Oooh Bartimaeus! That was such a great trilogy! Harlan Coben is a neighbor, but I have not read any of his books, sad to say. Perhaps the time has come?

  2. I loved A Dance With Dragons! Happy reading,
    Here’s what I’m reading
    Have a good Monday!
    Ashley
    #BookNerd

  3. i am adding Dance with Dragons and Along for the Ride to my list.:)

  4. Love Evie!! Love Hex Hall series. You and I are going to be great friends! I will be back often.

    Tina
    http://www.croftsclassroom.blogspot.com

  5. Child-like glasses: somewhere between rose colored glasses and beer goggles. That is hilarious! I agree that some childhood memories are better left with a tint of childhood. I have reread some favorites but others are solidly in the good memories of childhood pile. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’m looking forward to Necromancing the Stone after reading the first one. I’ve been contemplating trying Sarah Dessen again (since I did not enjoy The Truth About Forever) and I’m thinking Along for the Ride may be my next attempt.

  7. The Boyfriend is a monster series is a huge hit at my library. Interesting series and fun and the kiddos love it!
    Whatcha readin’ this week @ the Brunette Librarian ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I used to love Harlan Coben, but can’t keep up with him & all the YA books I read too. I wonder if you like this Sarah Dessen? Thanks for sharing all these.

    • I did enjoy the Sarah Dessen. I really disliked the parents, but their dysfunction was a big part of the story. I will probably pick up more by her.

  9. Yikes – you make me think about what book I loved as a kid but if I read it now – I’d probably dislike! I don’t think I want to find out ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you enjoy your books this week.

  10. Pretentious snooze-fest, ha! That made me laugh ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m glad you’re safe and sound and almost done cleaning up after Sandy! Happy reading

Leave a Reply

