Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Want on a Deserted Island

Real quick, two things. 1. Thanks a lot The Broke and the Bookish for getting the Gilligan’s Island theme song stuck in my head. Yeah, I blame you. And, 2. Love the new look. So this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is all about books we would want with us if we here stuck on a deserted island. As I sat down to list the ten books that I would be happy to read over and over, I started to obsess about the deserted island thing. Why was I there? That would totally determine the ten books that I would just happen to have with me. I really can’t think of many scenarios that would have me carrying my favorites around. The more likely situation is that I am on a vacation that went horribly, horrible wrong. In which case, I would have ten books that I have been planning to read with me. So I am going with that scenario. My TTTs always highlight my favs, it’s time to ‘fess up about the books I keep meaning to read.

1. Across the Universe by Beth Revis.

2. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. Everyone loved this one. It’s amazing, blah, blah, blah. I know. I just can’t read everything. It’s on the list.

3. Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty. I own these for Pete’s sake!

4. Ashfall by Mike Mullin. I like the cover for the sequel better, but I have heard great things about this debut. I am totally going to read it. I swear.

5. Graceling by Kristin Cashore. I have been saying that I am going to read this book for years. Years, people. In fact, it may take getting stranded for me to actually get to this.

6. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. True confession time. I just bought the book on CD for the library so I could listen to it. I love my job 🙂 Look at the cover! A dragon!

7. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. I know.

8. Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. Been meaning to read this one. I actually bought it for my Nook, so maybe while I am on vacation next week…

9. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta. Again, heard good things…

10. The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey. And again…

There are a few non-YA books that I have been eyeballing for ages too. I might just happen to have an eleventh and twelfth book tucked away somewhere. That would totally be like me. They would probably be:

12 & 13. Outlander by Diane Gabaldon and The Map of Time by Felix J. Palma.

I would get so much reading done if I was stranded on an island!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Want on a Deserted Island

  1. You HAVE to read sloppy firsts. The series is amazing.

  2. So many good ones on your list. I loved Mara Dyer and Ashfall & Ashen Winter! And Graceling! LOL. I’m in the middle of The Monstrumologist, I’m only on chapter two, it’s really good so far.
    Thank you for checking my list out! (=

  3. One of the few classics that I have read; I enjoyed Little Women. And Across the Universe is amazing! I need to read some of the books on this list as well. Maybe one day…

    Thanks for visiting my top ten.

  4. I contemplated adding Outlander to my list! Such a good book!

  5. I’ve been “eyeballing” Outlander too. It’s just so LONG. lol. I love your scenario of a vacation gone wrong. It really does make a difference. i guess I planned mine as though i somehow knew I was going to get stranded lol. Here’s Ours

  6. I’ve only read two books on this list. Graceling (which I LOVE) and Little Women (which I love even more).

  7. So many awesome books on this list! I love Graceling, Little Women and The Girl of Fire and Thorns. Great books to eagerly devour while you’re trying to ignore the fact that you’re stranded. And I love the fact that you actually put thought into why you were stranded in the first place. Also, now I have that them song stuck in my head. xD

Leave a Reply

