Top Ten Tuesday: Books and Authors I am Thankful For

This week The Broke and the Bookish is giving thanks and so am I. I am so thankful to be going on vacation. I am also thankful that I have a Nook loaded with books. And of course, there a so many authors and books that I am thankful for that a Top Ten list is nearly impossible! But, I’ll give it my best shot.

1. J.K. Rowling and Harry Potter. I will always be thankful for these books. For many years they were the only thing I had in common with my youngest brother. A thirteen year age gap is pretty big when you are 10 and 23! We read all the books together and saw all the movies. I will even admit to crying in the parking lot after seeing the last movie-not because of the film, but because it was the last one and end to a favorite tradition.

That’s my one heart-warming book related story. Everything is else is based on pure awesomeness.

2. Scott Westerfeld. Uglies was the first YA book that I read as an adult in library school. What an awesome way to get started in the wonderful world of YA! The only drawback is that often find myself thinking/saying things like “kids today have it so good, they don’t even know…” I mean, it’s true, but when did I become that old lady?

3. Carrie Ryan. I may never have discovered that I love zombies had it not been for The Forest of Hands and Teeth!

4. John Flanagan and The Ranger’s Apprentice. This series is so awesome and I am personally thankful for Halt and Tug. I love those guys! Even better? Last week my road-trip loving library pals and I took a little trip to Columbus to see him. And my collection of signed books grows…YAY.

5. Kiersten White. I loved Paranormalcy and can’t wait to read more from her. Also, her blog is lots of fun.

6. Libba Bray. I am so thankful for the awesome variety of books she writes. Gemma Doyle? Awesome. Going Bovine? Weird and awesome. Beauty Queens? Hilarious and awesome. The Diviners? My most favoritest of all! Creepy and awesome. And of course, she is a hilarious delight in person.

7. L.A. Meyer. A TTT list would not be complete without a shout out to my favorite sea-faring orpah, Jacky Faber!

How about some non-YA thanks?

8. Sarah Addison Allen. I am so thankful for her lovely, magical books.

9. Lisa Lutz. How much do I love the Spellmans? So. Freaking. Much. More, please!

10. Bill Willingham. I am thankful to my co-worker for recommending Fables as my introduction to the wonderful world of graphic novels!

So I kept it to ten, but I just realized it’s been a while since I gushed about Michael Grant, Ally Carter, Rick Riordan, or Antony John in a Top Ten Tuesday! Weird. Still totally thankful for these guys.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books and Authors I am Thankful For

  1. The Spellman books are so much fun! A friend of mine sent me an ARC of the newest one…unfortuantely there’s a book in between the last one I read and the newest one. It’s on my list, though!

  2. I am seeing Harry Potter on so many lists today, and it makes me so happy. HP was on my list as well. I never get sick of seeing HP love.

  3. What an awesome list! I’m sure a lot of people will have Harry Potter/J K Rowling on their list(myself include :P). I have got to pick up one of Sarah Addison Allen’s books – I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about them! Thanks for sharing your list!

    My Top Ten

  4. Excellent list! Most of your selections I’ve either read or have been meaning to read for a while.

  5. I love that I’ve been seeing Harry Potter on almost everyone’s list. :]

Leave a Reply

