Mondays With Megan-Hello, December!

I won’t bore you with all my vacation details, I promise. But maybe just a few highlights? I had a relaxing week hanging out at my sister’s 36 acre ranch, feeding chickens (and for a few days one poor turkey…), bribing horses, cuddling with a pack of dogs, and generally being lazy. Except for when we were outside exploring. We even attempted some Black Friday shopping, but apparently the shop keepers of Red Lodge, MT didn’t get the memo that is was the biggest shopping day of the year. The first store we stopped at was closed-at 9:45 am! I even managed to get some reading done. A good time was had by all (except for  the turkey, but he sure was tasty). How about one picture? Pretty horse, pretty snow.

rojo

This is just one of the many reasons why I am way behind in my reading and probably won’t make my goal of 200 books this year. I still have a few weeks and  I am trying! Let’s check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts and see what everyone is working on this week.

mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA

Finished:

 amulet dash and lily this is howsloppy

I really enjoyed Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan and Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty! I am sure I will eventually continue listening to The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathon Stroud, but I have to move on to other more pressing books on cd…Jacky Faber!

Currently Reading:

In the car: Viva Jacquelina! by L.A. Meyer. Hurray for Jacky’s tenth adventure!

viva

On the Nook: A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin. I cannot believe I am still reading this one. Seriously. I need to focus!

dance

On the night stand: Meant to Be by Lauren Morrill. I just started this one, but it appears that it is going to be an opposites attract sort of rom-com.

meant to be

I also have a few items that I am just sort of putzing around with. You know, those books that are just there, always within reach, but you’re not fully committed to. Anyone else have those? Anyway. I do.

alice hard eight

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Hello, December!

  1. therelentlessreader

    LOL, poor turkey 😉 Ours was tasty too! Sounds like you had a fab vacation, yay!

    Have a great week of reading!

  2. I love the Jessica Darling series! I was very prepared not to, but she really won me over as a narrator.

  3. I enjoyed Viva Jacquelina a few months ago, and now I’m working my way through a (sort of) re-read of the series by listening to the audiobooks–Katherine Kellgren is amazing!

  4. Ohhh, I can’t wait to read Meant To Be! That one looks fabulous!

  5. The ranch sounds & looks awesome. And, I loved Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, very fun & clever!

  6. Ohh Dash and Lilly was a fun one! I think I read it in the summertime and I kept thinking man, I should read this around the holidays. I should take it down from the shelf. I love all the Cohn-Levithan cowritten books. Also, Sloppy Firsts is an old favorite – Jessica Darling’s mishaps and adventures are so endearing and amusing. ah! Makes me want to read that one again too!

  7. Yay for vacation! I could use one myself. I had a ton of people at my house for Thanksgiving. I love George R. R. Martin, but those books DO take a while to read!

Leave a Reply

