Mondays With Megan: Critter Christmas, Puppy Love, and What Are You Reading?

Happy Monday! Did everyone have a good weekend? I sure did. Saturday was the Critter Christmas Party sponsored by Rocky River Public Library to benefit the Cleveland Animal Protective League. This was my first animal program at the library and I really had no idea what to expect. I am so excited to report that the day was HUGE success! APL staff and volunteers brought four dogs and four kitten to the library for a day of cuddles, crafts, and adoptions. Over 90 people stopped in to say hello, make crafts, and drop off gifts for the animals! Two of the dogs found forever families and a third guy stole my heart and will hopefully be mine soon. The animals that went back to the APL took bags of food, treats, and toys with them to share with their friends. This event was so easy and inexpensive to put on and I hope to see it become an annual event here at the library. My crafts were a hit among people and pets alike. For the cats we made a simple toy out of pipe cleaners and jingle bells (attach a bell to one end of the pipe cleaner and then wrap it around a pencil to make a curly cue shape). The kittens on hand loved them! The dogs got snacks. The day before I whipped up a quick batch of No-Bake Peanut Butter Treats (1 c. natural peanut butter, 3 c. quick oats, and 1/2 c. milk) which were rolled into bite-sized balls and gift wrapped in foil. They were a tasty favorite!

In other news, I FINALLY finished A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin and quite frankly, I find it a little distressing and uncomfortable not having another one to snatch up. On the bright side, I am now able to zip through my enormous TBR list and maybe even meet my reading goal. Maybe. Let’s check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts with the past week’s progress.

It’s Monday! What Are You  Reading?

mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA

Finished:

interview with vampire fables werewolf dance meant to be mouse guard

In the Car: I will finish Viva Jacquelina! by L.A. Meyer today. Up next is Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick.

viva finale

Currently Reading: Hard Eight by Janet Evanovich and The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

hard eight westing game

Walking the Dog: The weirdest book ever. Contest by Matthew Reilly. So weird.

contest

This week’s hopefuls: Bloody Prophecy by Alyxandra Harvey, Undead by Kristy McKay, and a handful of graphic novels.

blood prophecy undead

Only twenty books to go to make my goal. I think I can. I think I can. I think I can….

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan: Critter Christmas, Puppy Love, and What Are You Reading?

  1. I have a feeling that I will be distressed not to have such a substantial book by my side wherever I go. Though, The Westing Game is a good replacement 🙂

  2. I love The Westing Game and the Janet Evanovich series. I have yet to even attempt the Game of Thrones series…I don’t think I am up for that big of a commitment.

  3. Looks like some good reading — good luck on you goal!

  4. Best of luck meeting your yearly goal! Congrats on finishing Dance. I am just starting Swords on audio.

  5. I don’t know if I will ever have to do a program with live animals. That is usually the something the Children’s Dept. does at my library. I don’t think I could handle the stress! Your program sounds so cute though. I do love kittens and it is wonderful that some of the animals found a home. It is always great when a program goes off without a hitch and I’m glad yours was such a success.

    Congratulations on getting caught up with the Song of Ice and Fire saga! I have only read the first book so far and won’t pick up the second one till next year. Maybe.

    I’ve got Blood Prophecy on my TBR list but don’t know when I will get to it. I usually enjoy the Drake Chronicles books so I’m sure it will be a fun read. Good luck with meeting your reading goals!

  6. That program with the animals for adoption sounds fantastic. I loe animals – especially doggies! And yay for catching up with George Martin series. I still have the last 2 books to go.

  7. Ahh… some great choices here. I haven’t read any Ann Rice in a long time, but I love her vampire AND her witches series. My students adore Mouseguard.

Leave a Reply

