The First Mondays with Megan of 2013

Happy New Year! I had a lot going on over the past few weeks (who didn’t?) and just couldn’t manage to blog, but it’s a new year and time to make a whole bunch of new lists. I am going to try to cram a bunch of stuff into this one post. Bear with me.

First of all, yay for Downton Abbey being back! I love Shirley McClaine and the much needed comic relief she and Maggie Smith provided. Thank goodness for that because things are looking kind of bleak for all my favorites. But I don’t want to think about poor Bates or Mrs. Hughes right now…Let’s move on.

Just a reminder that the Bout of Books 6.0 read-a-thon starts today and it’s not too late to sign up. I am participated for the first time. In case you are interested, here are my goals for the week.

BoB6.0-300x200

The first challenge of the read-a-thon is hosted by The Book Barbies and it’s a fun one!

You have made a scientific discovery (who knew you were so good at science?!) on how to bring fictional characters to life. The problem? The method still isn’t *perfect,* so you can only bring two people to life, and they must return to the land of fiction in 30 days. Who will you choose as your bestie and your love interest for that one splendid month? (Feel free to add pictures if you like, but they are not required.)

My Picks:

hearts nerd

I have a tie for my BFF. It’s a toss-up between Lucy from the Drake Chronicles by Alyxandra Harvey and Jessie from Into the Wild Nerd Yonder by Julie Halpern. On the one hand, Lucy is an awesome, sassy human girl who gets to hang out with the dreamiest vampires ever. On the other hand, Jessie is another awesome human girl learning to embrace her love of nerdy things. I would totally play Dungeons & Dragons with her!

ranger

As for a sweetie? I think I would enjoy spending a month with Halt from The Ranger’s Apprentice series. He’s an adult, so it’s totally not weird! His dry, sarcastic wit is right up my alley.

Still with me? Cool. Time to check in with my favorite Monday meme, hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA

I have finished my first two books of 2013!

hattieblood and starlight

 The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis is strong debut and I enjoyed it, but it left me wanting more. I will certainly be watching this new author. I also finished Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor. This sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone is dark and devastating and brilliant. I continue to be amazed at how invested I am in this series.

Currently Reading:

okay when she woke little lady life of crime

Okay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt is a reread for book club this week. My first experience with this was on audio and I am really enjoying the bird pictures this time around. When She Woke by Hillary Jordan has been on my TBR pile for ages. This modern Scarlett Letter retelling comes highly recommended by a couple of coworkers and it is my new book on CD. I am kind of putzing my way through the final book in the Little Lady Agency series, The Little Lady Agency and the Prince by Hester Browne. I am enjoying it, but it is  not a priority so it gets set aside often. I am just fine with that. Finally, I am working on an ARC of How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller.

On Deck:

emperor twelve vintage

This year I want to finish up some of the many series that I have going. To that end, I am going to finally read book ten of my beloved Ranger’s Apprentice series, The Emperor of Nihon-Ja by John Flanagan. I recently learned that he is working on one more in the series and I am desperate to start his Brotherband Chronicles series, but I want to wrap things up with Will, Horace, and Halt first. I am also really enjoying the predictable comfort of the Stephanie Plum series so I might start Twelve Sharp by Janet Evanovich. Finally, I hope to get to another ARC this week. My NetGalley dashboard is literally overflowing with goodies. I think I will start Going Vintage by Lindsay Leavitt. So, that’s the plan!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “The First Mondays with Megan of 2013

  1. Okay for Now was one of my favorite reads of 2012. (I got to it late.) I adore Schmidt’s writing.

    I need to get on those Liani Taylor books! I hear nothing but amazing things!

  2. Days of Blood & Starlight was easily one of my favorite reads in 2012—I was so impressed by Taylor’s willingness to move away from the whimsey and romance of Shadow & Bone and take on some incredibly dark themes and plot twists.

    How to Lead a Life of Crime sounds really interesting. I hope it’s good!

  3. I so need to read Days of Blood and Starlight. I loved Lucy in the Drake Chronicles – she’d be awesome to hang out with!

    My bookish BFF and BF are here if you’d like a look 🙂

  4. Happy New Year to you!

    I absolutely loved Okay for Now – I also listened to it on audio, so I had no idea there were illustrations in the book! But the audio was SO amazing. Great book 🙂

    I would love to read When She Woke – I loved Jordan’s first novel and this one sounds soo good, too.

    Sounds like your new reading year is off to a great start – enjoy your books!

    Sue

    Book By Book

  5. OMG. I was totally blown away by When She Woke. Truth be told, I never read The Scarlett Letter but I don’t care. Even without the complete story (I know the basic outline obviously), When She Woke still kept me rapt for my entire commute to work when I listened to the audio.

  6. I love your choice of Halt as a sweetie! This is going to prove a distracting thought for most of the day! (I would pick Lord Peter Wimsey!)

  7. Pingback: Bout of Books 6.0 | YA? Why Not?

  8. I absolutely LOVE the Ranger’s Apprentice series! Great choice for a sweetie. My husband and I both blew through the series before we even knew it was considered “YA”. I love that it’s really a clean YA series, so I don’t mind having my sons or students read them. I love the humor and the action…

    My older son has the new series, too. I need to check it out.

Leave a Reply

