Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Goals for 2013

toptentuesday

This is my first Top Ten Tuesday of 2013, so it seems appropriate that is the one where I spell out my intentions for the year. I have decided to once again abstain from any of the reading challenges floating around the blogosphere. Not because they are not awesome and clever. They totally are. I am just not organized enough to participate in a meaningful way. Maybe next year? That is not say that I don’t have a bunch of personal bookish goals. I do.

1. Always enjoy my reading, because this is one of the great truths in my life:

happiness

This was my #1 goal last year and I loved it. I finally gave myself permission to quit on a book that was not really awesome. The only exception I make is for books that I am reading for review. Sometimes they are not my favorites, but I will finish them and give fair and honest review. Otherwise, if I don’t love it I am not wasting my time with it.

2. Read/Listen to 200 books. This is the same goal I had for 2012 and it worked well for me. Without Game of Thrones to slow me down I may exceed this goal. Or I may spend more time doing other things!

3. Write more reviews. I have said this every year since I started blogging. I think I have improved each year and I would like this year to be the same. I would like to aim for one a week. Last week I reviewed Blood Prophecy by Alyxandra Harvey (Happy Book Birthday to you!). I haven’t picked this week’s review yet, but there will be one. See? Positive thinking.

4. Do bookish crafts.

book hedgehog

Yup. That is a book hedgehog. I saw this on Facebook today and decided that I need one of these guys. So, I am making it my goal to do some bookish crafts. I have some ideas for my old and musty copies of The Little House on the Prairie books too. Fingers crossed!

5. Attend as many author events as possible.

kevin hearne ally carter

I already have two events. I am so on a roll! The first event is happening at Rocky River Public Library (that’s my very own library, FYI) TOMORROW! How lucky for me, I just need to pop down the stairs at 7 pm to meet Kevin Hearne, author of the Iron Druid Chronicles. Then in February I am roadtripping it to Lansing, Michigan to see ALLY freakin’ CARTER!!!! What an awesome way to start the new year!

6. Finish a bunch of series.  This is a pretty hefty list….want a peek at a few series that I have started but neglected to either catch up with or complete?

emperoraskbeautifulcreatures3twelve

The Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan, Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness, The Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, and Stephanie Plum by Janet Evanovich are just four series that I plan to make progress on this year. Right here that is 15 books! Oy!

7. Start a new epic series.

outlanderstorm frontodd thomas

I haven’t picked yet, but I am looking at either Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher or Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz. Any thoughts?

8. Read the book before the movie.

warm bodieswwz

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion and World War Z by Max Brooks, I’m lookin’ at you.

9. Seriously for real this time, read Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card and Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.

ender's gamelittle women

Oh. My. God. these two books are the books that taunt, haunt, and torment me. I need to make my peace with them.

10. Start a book club for high school students.

book

I am in my third year of hosting a middle school book club and some of my eight graders are aging out. A few were concerned that they had no book club option to move into. This is the year I solve that problem! I don’t even care if it ends up being me and my two most committed students. They asked for a book club so they are going to get one! I am excited.

I think my goals are realistic and achievable and most importantly, I know I will have fun working to achieve them. What are your 2013 plans?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Goals for 2013

  1. Definitely read The Dresden Files. That is one series that is dripping in awesome. Outlander is great too, but The Dresden Files rocks.

    I plan on reading 200 books too! Good luck to the both of us!

  2. Oh my, I love your goals! Especially the one with the bookish crafts and the bookclub for highschoolers! Really cool! Also, reading 200 books a year is something to be super proud of, I believe!!

  3. Great goals! I need to attend more author events as well. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. omg that hedgehog is adorable. Good luck with your goal!

    Here’s my TTT: http://www.best-of-ya.blogspot.com

  5. Your book club sounds brilliant! What a good idea. Also love the idea of bookish crafts, I might do that myself one day.

    Little Women is a great book, I don’t think you’ll find it as bad as you think 🙂

    Nay x

  6. Lol, I want to read Little Women, too! I have been meaning to read that one for what feels like forever!

    And DEFINITELY keep reading for fun! Why do it if it isn’t fun?

    Good luck on your goals 🙂

  7. I almost included reading the book before the movie (including Ender’s Game) but it didn’t make the top ten. And, don’t tell, but I haven’t read Little Women. Good luck with this year’s list!

  8. Pingback: Mondays With Megan-I Have a Series Problem. Seriously. | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

