Mondays with Megan-Bout of Books 6.0 Wrap Up and What are You Reading?

Last week I participated in Bout of Books 6.0, hosted by Amanda@On a Book Bender. It was so low-key that I thought for sure I would make all of my read-a-thon goals. As the week wore on I fell a little behind, but I was confident that I could cram in a bunch of reading over the weekend. It was a solid plan. But then this happened:

kevin

Right before Christmas I lost my 9-year-old pup pal to cancer. It was sad to see her go and I miss her terribly but I soon realized that my house was too quiet without a dog. So over the weekend I paid a visit to The Cleveland Animal Protective League. That is where I met this guy (it is also where I got my previous dog. Great place!). His name is Kevin and he is an eighteen month old Chow/Retriever mix. He is sweet and friendly and a lot of work. The poor guys seems to be quite skittish. He totally cut into my weekend reading time! Despite the furry disruption, I managed quite well with my goals. Here is a quick recap:

boutofbooks3

Number of Books Finished: 3.25
Okay for Now by Gary Schmidt, How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller, and Eleven on Top by Janet Evanovich. I am about 25% of the way through The Emperor of Nihon-Ja by John Flanagan.
Minutes Listened: 215 (3.6 hours!) When She Woke by Hillary Jordan (so good!)
Pages Read: 857
Challenges completed: 2
Reviews written: 1, The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson

I had hoped to finish 5 books and participate in 3 challenges, but I came pretty close. I am looking forward to the next one.

That recap pretty much takes care of my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? list, but let’s check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts anyway.

mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA

Finished:

okay for now eleven how to

Okay for Now was a reread-still love it. Eleven on Top is part of my ongoing mission to catch up with Stephanie Plum. How to Lead a Life of Crime was an ARC and a review will be out soon. It was dark, disturbing, and totally compelling.

Currently Listening:

when she woke dead i may well be

I am loving When She Woke!

Currently Reading:

emperor little lady revenge

I am savoring my beloved Ranger’s Apprentice book, lolly-gagging my way through the final Little Lady book, and I just started an ARC of Revenge. What a great title!

Up next: To be perfectly honest, I have no clue and I am ok with that. Stay tuned!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Bout of Books 6.0 Wrap Up and What are You Reading?

  1. Ooh, I can’t wait to read your review of How to Live a Life of Crime—it’s one upcoming book I’m very interested in.

    And 1. condolences on your 9-year-old puppy and 2. congratulations on your 18-month-old more of a puppy! I know it must be bittersweet to have a new dog, but he looks so friendly!

    I just brought home a 9-week-old lab/border collie puppy and I feel like I’m getting a very tiny taste of what it’s like to have a new baby: light sleeping, no shower, someone else’s schedule getting priority over mine…. She’s darling though.

    Have a great week!

  2. I’m interested to know what How to Live a Life of Crime is about. Hopefully is fiction, I’ll check it out.

    Rive @ Booshelf

  3. I’m sorry you lost your 9-year-old. Congratulations on your new addition. He’s so handsome! Also way to go on still managing to get all that reading in despite the disruption to your household!

  4. So sorry for the lost of your dog 😦 But happy a new pup has a new home 🙂 And I loved When She Woke – listened to it on audio as well – and I hope you enjoy it too.

  5. Congratulations on the new dog. It seems to me that you still got [lenty of reading/listening done.

    Anne @ My Head is Full of Books

  6. Kevin looks like he’s a little unenthused about that photograph 😉 He’s a cutie. I’ve been wanting to rescue a dog since we had to put ours down almost 3 years ago, but my parents say no. Houses are too quiet with animals :/

    I got sidetracked with Bout of Books too, but that was because I got sick, ugh. I’d still say you got plenty done!

  7. I’m so sorry to hear about your dog. I hope that Kevin will help make you feel a little better, but it’s still SO hard. I may have to take a look at How to Live a Life of Crime!

Leave a Reply

