Mondays With Megan-Dog Duty is Interfering with Book Time!

Hi everyone! Happy Monday…zzzzzzzzzzzzz. Week one with the new pup was  long and exhausting and with reading  being pushed way down to the bottom of the list. The fact that I proctored a practice ACT test on Saturday really helped by reading stats this week. It was kind of nice to spend three hours reading-and get paid for it! Contrary to what many people believe about my job, I do not actually get paid to read books. That is my dream job! Anyway. The synapses aren’t firing at full speed yet so let me just make a list and be done.

It’s Monday! What are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Journey. There is a children’s/YA version at Teach Mentor Texts. This list is my favorite part of Monday!

mondayreading monday2

Finished:

when she woke wizard of oz revenge

It’s not much, but I loved them all. When She Woke is a clever and thought-provoking retelling of the The Scarlet Letter. Full of hot-button topics such as religion, abortion, and homosexuality, it may not be for everyone, but I loved it. The graphic version of L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Eric Shanower has inspired a book craft! The illustrations are so amazing that I want them on display in my house. I plan to disassemble a perfectly good book! Finally, I breezed through an ARC of Revenge of the Girl With the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg. I will have a review up this week, but take my word for it now, you’ll want to pick this one up.

Currently Reading/Listening:

seraphina scarlet emperor prisoner

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman is my new audio. The beginning seems a bit complicated, but I am starting to get into it now. I am so excited to be reading an ARC of Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. I loved Cinder and I think this sequel may be even more awesome. Can that be possible?!? I am still plugging away at The Emperor of Nihon-Ja by John Flanagan. I am in no hurry with this one. I just started an ARC of Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz.

To Read:

marvelous oz level 2

I am looking forward to another visit to Eric Shanower’s version of Oz! I also think I should get a 2013 debut in before January is over. I am looking forward to Lenore Appelhan’s Level 2.

What are you reading this week?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

13 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Dog Duty is Interfering with Book Time!

  1. Based on the title alone I’m going to be picking up “Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality”. How can you go wrong? 🙂
    I have to admit, I cheated and looked on wikipedia to see what happened in Storm of Swords, but I still HAVE to read the book! Graceling is wonderful, one of my favorites.
    Enjoy your books!
    Amanda

  2. I really loved The Scarlet Letter in high school and this retelling sounds fabulous…I will definitely be adding it to my tbr list. I also am quite intrigued by the Oz graphic novels. You have quite the great list of books you are reading. I can’t wait for Scarlet!

  3. When She Woke has got to be one of the best books I’ve read all year. I devoured it in one sitting and wished our English department had funds to purchase a set. It’s a good one. Thanks for reminding me of Scarlet, I think I have it in my to-read pile from NCTE (I too loved Cinder, so I need to get to Scarlet!).

  4. Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality was definitely on my TBR list. I’m so glad you liked it! It sounds amazing!

  5. I haven’t even read Cinder and I’m already looking forward to Scarlet. I gotta get going! Happy reading!

  6. Prisoner B-3087 sounds interesting, I’m adding that one to my TBR shelf
    How could it would be to get paid to read books.

    Rivie @ Bookshelf

  7. I’ve had When She Woke sitting on my Kindle for a while now—it was a daily deal sometime in the past few months—and I *think* it’s something I’ll enjoy, though I’ve heard such conflicting things.

    My advice for Seraphina is to just go with the flow and let the world absorb you. The story was easy enough for me to follow once I stopped focusing on the made up language, etc., and the story is so. good.

    Have a great week!

  8. Thanks for the heads- up on When She Woke. I’m reading This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel this week. I’m a sucker for literary re-makes! I have an ARC of Revenge of the Girl sitting on my desk, so I ‘m looking forward to reading your review!

  9. I have Seraphina on my tbr list. I hope we both love it!

  10. I cannot wait to read Scarlet!!!! 🙂

  11. Ahhh, so envious that you have an ARC of Scarlet!

  12. I am so jealous that you have a ARC of Scarlet. Think of your former coworkers in the future!

Leave a Reply

