Mondays with Megan-In Which I Realize I am Doing the Opposite of My 2013 Reading Goals

It’s true. I told myself that 2013 was going to be all about finishing up series. I mean, I really do want to know what happens next! But how have I been spending my reading time so far this year? Reading books that have not even been published yet! Oy. I can’t help myself and I got a little overly excited about some Netgalley options and well, now I am reading ARCs. That’s fine. The year is still young and I have plenty of time to work on those goals. Want to know what I have managed to read? Yes? Good, because it’s time to check in with my favorite Monday meme. Hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts (check here for your children’s/YA lists):

It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

mondayreading monday2

Finished:

scarlet prisoner marvelous oz emperor

Another GREAT reading week! The more I think about Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, the more I think I love it even more than Cinder. You may be wondering how this is even possible. Trust me, it is. It’s brilliant. Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz was a really tough read. It’s based on the real life experiences of Jack Gruener, a Holocaust survivor. I should have a review up this week. It is a well-written and compelling read, but so terribly sad. Obviously. I also headed back to the land of Oz with The Marvelous Land of Oz by Eric Shanower. This volume was just as lovely as the first and hilariously witty and clever. I can’t wait to get Ozma of Oz! And you will note that I did manage to get myself almost caught up with The Ranger’s Apprentice. I still have The Lost Stories to read and I am super excited that there will be a book 11 coming some time this year. YAY! Then I will allow myself start The Brotherband Chronicles series (which is going to be seven glorious books long!).

Listening:

seraphina

I have reached the half way point of this audio and it is strange and lovely and I am completely enthralled. I am not sure this is going to be on my favorites list, but I am certainly enjoying it! I am anxious to see if it wins any media awards today at the ALA Midwinter Conference.

Currently Reading:

little lady dualed double crossed

As part of my reading resolution, I WILL finish the final book in the Little Lady Agency trilogy by Hester Browne. I am working on an ARC of Dualed by Elsie Chapman. I also have Double-Crossed by Ally Carter. This e-novella is a freaking cross over book starring Gallagher Girls and Heisters! It’s short, but I am savoring it.

On Deck:

ask cadet twelve

I am very eager to get back to Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking trilogy. I left Todd and Viola is such a precarious position! I also have The Cadet of Tildor by Alex Lidell at home and I have heard nothing but good things about it, so I may give that a try next. I also have another Stephanie Plum to work on. I will get caught up before Ms. Evanovich puts out a #20! Of course, something more enticing could show up without any notice and throw a monkey wrench in all my plans!

That’s all for now, I am off to get ready for the big awards announcements.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Mondays with Megan-In Which I Realize I am Doing the Opposite of My 2013 Reading Goals

  1. I know, Scarlet was amazing! I love that series! And yay for Stephanie Plum!

  2. Sometimes it’s hard to stick to our goals – especially with so many other new books tempting us! Glad you liked Scarlet, and that you’re enjoying Seraphina so far. The Cadet of Tildor also sounds fantastic. Happy reading!

  3. A Morris award for Seraphina! I’m so excited. (I think it’s the only medalist that I’ve already won—womp womp. Just means my TBR list is that much longer….) I’ve yet to read Marissa Meyer’s books, but with all the talk of how they’re just getting better, I think I’ll need to fix that ASAP.

    Have a great week!

  4. I still haven’t read The Ask and the Answer, I need to read it soon. I want to know what happens to them.
    I’ll go see what you thought of Prisoner B-3087

    Rivie @ Bookshelf

  5. I still haven’t read Cinder. It’s up next and I’m really excited. I’ve been waiting forever to read it. Can’t wait to read that and Scarlet. Old email follower.

    Opal @ The Akamai Reader

  6. I’m still working on that Patrick Ness series too – having only read book 1. ANd I’m with you on finishing up series this year … and yes – the year is still really young 🙂

  7. Cinder was mentioned to me yesterday and with your positive review of the two books in the series so far, I may have to add to my To-Read list so maybe in 2014, I’ll get around to it! What’s that famous quote “the best laid reading plans of teachers, librarians, and booksellers often go astray”? 😀

  8. I LOVED The Cadet of Tildor. I even got to be on the blog tour for it, which was exciting since I’d wanted to read it from the moment I heard about it. I LOVED that there wasn’t romance in it.

Leave a Reply

