Top Ten Tuesday: Remember When? Ten Awesome Bookish Memories

toptentuesday

Every bookworm worth her salt has a collection of treasured bookish memories. The Broke and The Bookish say “Share, please!”

1. 1977-technically not a memory-but I have heard about reading to my baby brother so many times that it may as well be. There is photographic evidence that I have been a bookworm from the beginning. Picture this: a two-and-a-half year old me sitting in a giant orange rocking chair (it was the 70s!) wearing my awesome Underoos and “reading” to my new baby brother, who clearly loves it because he is sleeping.

2.Β 1980-81 This is the year that I was five. I must have gone to kindergarten knowing how to read because I do not remember a time that I could not read. One of my favorite childhood reading memories is reading the Charlie Brown ‘Cyclopedia set cover to cover. I feel like they may have been some kind of grocery store promotion that my grandparents got one at a time or the course of the year.

charlie brown

3. 1984– It was the summer between third and fourth grade. I spent my morning parked on a hideous brown couch reading every Nancy Drew book that I could get my hands on.

nancy drew

4. 1988– In the spring of this year I took a Red Cross Babysitting Class at my local library. I was 12 going on 13 and I had been coming to this library since I was little. It no longer looked like the huge castle that remembered from being a little kid, but I still loved it. This comes with a bonus memory, totally non-bookish. On the day of my last class my mom and stepdad came to pick me up. My dad asked if I was a pro at diaper changing. When I told him yes, he said it was a good thing because we were having a baby! And that is how I learned about my brother Bill. In the parking lot of my favorite library.

SEuclidentryfacade

5. 1990ish I stayed up all night to finish A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving.Β  In my memory I am sitting in the den under the bank of old windows bawling my eyes out as the sun came up. It probably did not actually happen like that. I have always been a touch melodramatic. I did stay up all night and I did cry at the end. The rest may just be fanciful made up stuff.

owen meany

6. 1998 or 1999 Harry Potter was all the buzz and I was ignoring it. I was an adult after all. A college graduate. I read important things like the works of Barbara Kingsolver. Then I noticed a co-work reading it and finally caved. Remember my brother Bill (Billy back then)? With a 13 year age gap we had nothing in common but genes. Until now. On a rare visit home, I brought him the first book. He in turn got my mom hooked. When the movies came out the three of us saw them together. When Order of the Phoenix came out in July 2007 our mom was on the losing end of her battle with cancer. We all forgot about that for two blessed hours. When Half-Blood Prince came out in July of 2009 Billy and I were there alone and our dad was on the losing end of his cancer battle. Again, two wonderful hours of escape. In 2011, I bought my 23-year old brother dinner and a beer before going to the final Harry Potter movie. I am not going to lie, I bawled through that movie and again in the parking lot when I realized that it really was all over. You see, I am the oldest and Bill is the youngest of eight children and Harry Potter was our thing. Just us. A week later I handed that kid The Hunger Games and told him to get busy, there was a movie coming out! Now we just have to wait for the nephews to be old enough for HP.

harry

7. 2002– This was my summer of classics. I spent the summer hanging out at a coffee shop reading books no one made me read in high school or college. I read the Lord of the Rings trilogy, Germinal by Emile Zola, Crime and Punishment and The Brothers Karamozov by Fyodor Dostyevsky, and Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. I loved it all and felt so smart…and that was pretty much the end of my run with classics!

crime germinal

8. 2004-present-I became an aunt and the games began. I am always on the hunt for the perfect book for my nephews. One of my favorite memories is reading Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You? by Dr. Seuss to my oldest nephew, Lucas. I have to brag a little. I was awesome at reading the book and we both loved it.

mr brown

9. 2010-present-In 2010 I went to my first author visit. It was Michael Grant. I went with my friend and co-work, Stacey. I was so excited to be there and so embarrassed for my town because only 5 people came to see the amazing Michael Grant. Your loss people. We had an AWESOME evening. And that was the beginning of my author quests. Since then Stacey and I have traveled near and far (mostly far. Stupid Cleveland) and seen some favorites like Scott Westerfeld, Libba Bray, and John Flanagan. Next week we are off the Michigan to see Ally Carter! Road Trip.

road trip

10. My brain is drained. You get 9 memories.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

 

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Remember When? Ten Awesome Bookish Memories

  1. I wish I could of seen Michel Grant! I’ve always wanted to see him. You’ve met so many great authors πŸ™‚

  2. Aww, it’s so cute that Harry Potter can give you tons of good memories! Sorry about your parents though. ):
    I sadly still haven’t read them yet (even though I have five of my friends URGING me to). The entire The Hunger Games series, on the other hand, I have read and I absolutely can’t wait for the movies to come out! πŸ˜€
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

  3. I’m glad you have such amazing memories with books! I was the total opposite of you as a kid. I HATED reading with a passion. I would kick and scream and throw tantrums until my parents gave up. (This is all hearsay of of course, as I have no actual memories of it.) It changed with the Harry Potter books. My mom would read a page, then I’d have to read one. That and manga books developed me into a reading monster. I’m glad you’re passing on the tradition to your nephews!

    -Dulcy
    (My Summer Girl Books)

  4. I love the way you organized this! I loved reading as a kid as well. Also making up my own stories. πŸ™‚

  5. My daughter (almost 9) really likes Nancy Drew right now, she told me. I should go pick up some of the books and read them with her – as much of a reader as I was, I never read any of them. Kinda weird, lol.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Bree πŸ™‚
    Coffee Bean Bookshelf

  6. O…M…G… We must be destined to “meet” in this crazy, fun blog-o-sphere! I, too, LOVED the Charlie Brown books!!! I posted about it a few months ago… SO happy to see them getting some love πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by my blog! *new follower* (and fellow librarian) ~Amie Beamer http://www.Reading YA.com

  7. I have A LOT of the original Nancy Drew’s – thanks to my grandmother. It’s weird how it the worst of situations she always knows exactly what to do. Such a smart “teenager!” It’s a lot of fun to read the other ones and the read a new one and see Nancy Drew then vs. Nancy Drew now.

    ~Andrea @ Beauty but a Funny Girl

  8. I loved reading your bookish memories. I could relate, we must be about the same age πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

