Mondays with Megan: Spending March with the March Sisters and What are You Reading?

Happy Monday! Has anyone else noticed the sun shining at 6:30 this morning! It made being up at that horrible hour almost manageable. A quick peek at the calendar told me daylight savings time ends on Sunday. Oh happy day! Anyway. My weekend consisted of lunch with three adorable bickering old ladies (my grandma and her two sisters, ages 93, 91, and 89), a day of work at the library, many training sessions with Kevin (we can walk to a point where the house is completely out of sight, yippee!), an evening of Game of Thrones Season 2, and an afternoon of coffee and reading. My favorite pup-related activity continues to be the game I like to call “What Will Kevin Eat?” This weekend we learned that Kevin likes the lemon Girl Scout Cookies and turkey hot dogs. I should be keeping a list. Speaking of lists, it’s time for a reading list. Many thanks to Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for hosting It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

my ex from hell prodigy light

I only managed three books this week, but they were awesome! I loved My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling. Look for the review of this quick and sassy Persephone tale later this week. The second book in the Legend Trilogy, Prodigy by Marie Lu, did not disappoint! The stage is now set for an epic ending! And finally, I read Light by Michael Grant. I am still processing this one. First of all, I am so sad to say goodbye to the Gone series. Secondly, I now have the answers and I am not sure what to do with them. This was a brilliant end to a brilliant series. Bravo!

Currently Reading/Listening To:

speaking from among the bones rules for disappearing

I am almost finished listening to the newest Flavia de Luce book, Speaking From Among the Bones by Alan Bradley. This series keeps getting better and better and Flavia is quite the little firecracker. Love. The Nook is loaded with a number of e-galleys. I am currently reading The Rules For Disappearing by Ashley Elston. I am really enjoying this debut thriller and you’ll get to hear all about it next week.

On Deck

perfect scoundrels enders game  shadow of the blackbirdslittle women

I wish I could  have stayed home with Kat and Hale, but I guess cracking open Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter at lunch will have to do. So excited! Once I have finished Falvia I will go back to Ender’s Game. My next e-galley will be In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters. Finally, I have committed to reading Little Women this month. It has recently come to my attention that my aunt has also never read this book and also feels high levels of guilt and anxiety of this situation. So, we formed our own little book club and decided that we would get to know the March girls during the month of March. Yup, we are that lame. Not going to lie, I may need more than just March.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

4 responses to “Mondays with Megan: Spending March with the March Sisters and What are You Reading?

  1. I bought GoT Season 2, but was waiting until this week to watch (as my husband is out of town—IDK why he doesn’t want to watch it. I think I need to get him checked). Your other books look great, I hope you enjoy!

  2. Ender’s Game was one of my favorite, favorite books when I was in school. I think I first read it in fifth grade… anyway, do you think the author’s behavior will impact people from reading it now? Like, do you think if teens knew how homophobic and etc. that Card is, that they’d still be interested? I know it’s impacted the way some adults see him.

  3. So glad to see you enjoyed Prodigy – I loved Legend and hope to get to it soon.

  4. Ooh, Ender’s Game! I read Speaker for the Dead last month, and have the next one on its way from the library. Excellent books…and very, very far from Little Women, if you’re going for variety in your reading!

Leave a Reply

