Mondays With Megan-I Want My Hour Back. Seriously.

I don’t know about you, but I had a really busy weekend and am hurting over that silly lost daylight savings hour. Why can’t we change the time on Friday so we have an additional day to recover? Clearly no one consulted me on this. They should. Anyway. On the bright side, I got a free (rain) car wash today! See you later street salt.

My weekend consisted of a work outing, a day of cooking, another mange dip for the dog (#4 out of 8. Sigh.), and Ukrainian Easter Egg decorating. This is the third year that I have participated and I am quite pleased with this year’s eggs. Especially the one using a traditional pattern (on the right).

IMG_4337[1]

IMG_4338[1]

I am almost embarrassed to check in the Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for this week’s It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading monday2

Finished:

rules for disappearing speaking from among the bones perfect scoundrels

I really enjoyed Ashley Elston’s thrilling debut, The Rules for Disappearing and hope to have a review ready this week. The latest Flavia de Luce book is wonderful. Flavia is as witty and charming as ever, the mystery was full of red herrings and ending is a total cliff-hanger. One of the best yet. And finally, Ally Carter’s latest Heist Society book, Perfect Scoundrels, was awesome. Her characters are going in very interesting directions.

Currently reading/listening to:

jellicoe road little women poison adoration lost stories

Last week I had some issues with audiobooks. First, I abandoned Ender’s Game. Probably for good. I know a lot of people LOVE this book, but I can’t help but wonder if some of the love is due to nostalgia. I LOVED A Wrinkle in Time as a child, but recently reread it as an adult and found it wholly unappealing. So I am curious if all the Ender lovers have recently read and loved the book. Anyone? Then I started The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, but when disc 2 refused to work in my car I scrapped the whole thing. I will most likely go back to this title. Finally, I settled on On The Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. And honestly, I am struggling with it. I hear it has a rough start but an amazing end, so I am going to stick with it…and there you have my audio drama. As for the rest, I am making slow progress with Little Women (but I am enjoying it, to my surprise), I have an ARC of Poison by Bridget Zinn from NetGalley,  The Adoration of Jenna Fox is a quick reread for book club this week, and The Lost Stories is just floating around my house and getting absolutely no commitment out of me. Poor thing.

On Deck

shadow of the blackbirds

My next ARC will be In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters. Beyond that, I have no idea. I need to read a gentle read for my Adult Services book club and I may need to read another Stephanie Plum. Or finish the Chaos Walking trilogy. It will be a surprise for everyone!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Mondays With Megan-I Want My Hour Back. Seriously.

  1. I´ve read and LOVED Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta,.
    I´m currentry reading The Sea of Tranquility.

  2. I just listened to the first audio book in about 8 years this week. It was good, and I enjoyed it for my long car ride, but other than road trips, I don’t know when I would listen to another. I take public transportation to and from work, but that is valuable actual book reading time. Thanks for visiting my Monday Post, and I’m glad you liked Perfect Scoundrels as much as I did.

    LisaILJ @ I’ll Tumble For YA

  3. You definitely need to return to The Scorpio Races. It is fantastic and wholly unlike anything currently out.

  4. Perfect Scoundrels!!! I can’t wait to read that! I read the Double Crossed novella the other day, and I just love Carter and her series’!
    I’ve heard such great things about the Jellicoe Road audiobook, and I want to listen eventually. When I read the book, I felt like, “Whaaat is happening?!” in the beginning, but I LOVED it by the end. It comes together!

  5. I have started Jellicoe Road about 6 times and abandoned it each time–and each time I pick it up to try to get through it, I can’t remember what’s going on and have to start all over again. Maybe someday I’ll get through it. I reread A Wrinkle in Time last year and had the same reaction: not a book that holds up for me. Though I did just buy Hope Larson’s graphic novel adaptation and can’t wait to read that! I LOVED The Scorpio Races. I keep hoping my library will get it on audio so I can get my husband to read it too. (He’s not much of a reader, but he loves audiobooks!)

  6. I loved The Scorpio Races so I hope you don’t give up – although I read the print book, so I can’t speak for the audio.

  7. Before I get to the books, I want to say your Easter eggs are beautiful! It’s been a while since I read Ender’s game, but I read it as an adult and really liked it. Then it was several years later when Ender’s Shadow came out. I read that and then immediately wanted to reread Ender’s Game. I did and really liked both of them. But too many good books for me to give it a third read. With so many choices, I think if you’re not into it, just know that others enjoy it and it’s not your thing. I have Rules for Disappearing from Netgalley so I hope I get to that one this week.

  8. I want to read The Flavia De Luce stories, we have the Sweetness at the bottom of the pie on our book club list. And the Ally Carter series looks good as well. Good luck and enjoy your reading this week. Here’s my reading update list if you’d like to stop by. New follower here! http://momssmallvictories.com/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-march-11-2013/

Leave a Reply

