The Rules For Disappearing by Ashley Elston Review

rules for disappearing

The Rules For Disappearing by Ashley Elston
May 14, 2013
Disney-Hyperion
320 pgs

It has been almost a year since Meg’s family was torn from their home and whisked to safety in the middle of the night. Now, six moves and six identities later, “the suits” from the Witness Protection Program have deposited the family in rural Louisiana. Seventeen-year-old Meg has had enough of the program that is destroying her family. She wants this will be their last move, but to make that happen she needs answers and after eight months, her father still refuses to talk about what he did or saw to land them in all in the program. In most ways this move is no different from the others. Everyone gets new names, hair styles, and cover stories. The rules are still the same, but something is different about this placement. The biggest difference is that Meg has a friend. Breaking all the rules, Meg starts to let Ethan into her life and she begins searching for clues about what happened. As she begins piecing together her memories of that night, a shocking truth that she is not prepared for is revealed.

I really enjoyed this suspenseful debut novel. There is plenty of tension and intrigue as the answers to Meg’s questions are slowly revealed and there are plenty of red herrings thrown in to keep readers on their toes. I enjoyed the details of small town life and the thoughtful accounts of the impact the Program has had on the Jones family. Ethan is the perfect good guy character, and I found that despite the rushed intensity of their relationship, I could help but like him. Being an adult reader, I had some concern about Meg’s total disregard for safety and some of the highly questionable decisions she makes, but teens will definitely identify with her frustration and feeling of powerlessness. Teen readers will be more willing applaud Meg’s decision to take matters into her own hands. None of these criticisms detracted from my enjoyment of this book and I will definitely recommend it teens looking for creepy suspense.

This book was provided by the publisher and NetGalley.com for review.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

4 responses to “The Rules For Disappearing by Ashley Elston Review

  1. I loved suspense when I was a teen and I am looking forward to reading this one. I think a lot of times characters in suspense novels do take things into their own hands or make dumb decisions maybe because it serves the plot to make the story more suspenseful.

  2. This one sounds really good. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to live like that, with your own identity having to change constantly, especially as a teen. I’ll definitely be giving this one a read!

  3. This book sounds really interesting, I’ve seen it around on the blogs, but never thought much of it. I’ve never read a suspense novel, so I’m totally adding this to my TBR. Thanks for the review !

  4. I also read Rules for Disappearing this week. I had such an enjoyable reading week because I was able to move through the books fairly quickly – and that was true of this book as well. Action, mystery, suspense . . . I didn’t want to stop reading.

Leave a Reply

