Top Ten Tuesday-Books I Just Had to Buy, But Still Haven’t Read

toptentuesday

I consider it an occupational hazard: the burning need to purchase books. The worst part about the need to buy all the books all the time is that you simply cannot read them all. And so they keep very good company on one of many bookshelves and book piles. It happens to the best of books. It can’t be helped. Here is a little peak at my stack of shame. Someday I will read them. I promise. I hope.

1. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers. Why have I not read this?!?

grave mercy

2. Across the Universe by Beth Reevis. Now that the series is complete I should get on it.

across the universe

3. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. I bought this one in the hopes of finally moving it from TBR to Read. I was not meant to read this book. I tried, but it was not for me. I still have a copy, but I officially removed it from my TBR list. I feel such immense relief about it.

enders game

4. Jessica Darling, books 1-4 by Megan McCafferty. I have read the first book! One down, three to go (well, technically four, but I don’t own the fifth book…yet).

sloppy firsts

5. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. This is kind of cheating, because I am listening to this book right now! How sad is it that I own a copy of the book and I chose to listen instead? Whatever. I don’t even care. I am glad I own the book. It’s wonderful and maybe I will read it one of these days. Or give it to a friend. Or not. Hmmph.

jellicoe road

6. The Outcasts, The Brotherband Chronicles #1 by John Flanagan. I bought this at an author event ages ago. I am not allowed to read it yet. Not until I am done with The Ranger’s Apprentice. Soon. Very soon.

brotherband

7. The Iron Druid series by Kevin Hearne. Another author visit purchase. I have the whole series (to date). I will get to them eventually.

hounded

8. Claim to Fame by Margaret Peterson Haddix. Oh my god. I am the worst! This is yet another author visit purchase. What is wrong with me?

claim to fame

9. The Little House on the Prairie box set. I don’t feel bad about this one. I must own these books. Always.

little house

In a Top Ten Tuesday first, I am ending my list short. I know there are more books that would fit this list, but I am away from my incriminating shelves and drawing a blank on titles. I think this is enough. In fact, I am currently reading a book that has been languishing for years…Little Women!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

13 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Books I Just Had to Buy, But Still Haven’t Read

  1. Ah, I know what you mean about buying books as a hazard… it’s also a compulsion at times! I too have Across the Universe and Jellicoe road on my shelf, unread. And I can recommend Ender’s Game – it lives up to the hype!

    Thanks for sharing your list!

  2. travels with mary

    ugh you and me both with Grave Mercy! why haven’t I read it? I have no clue!!

  3. The Little House on the Prairie series was one of my favourites growing up. I haven’t read it in years, but seeing it on this list brought up some pretty fond memories. I haven’t read The Jessica Darling series yet, but I keep meaning too; I haven’t bought it because i know myself and it would definitely still be sitting on my shelf.

  4. Oh, Jellicoe Road!! I remember reading this book. So sad. At least you are listening to it 😉

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT.

  5. Grave Mercy could have easily made my list as well, I don’t know what’s wrong with me, I mean, ASSASSIN NUNS! Seriously!
    And I see Jellicoe Road appearing on so many lists, it sounds really good and I loved Finnikin of the Rock!
    Hope you end up reading and enjoying these!

  6. I See Across the Universe and Jessica Darling everywhere…hmm maybe I should look into those. Hope you get to these some day ha! 🙂

  7. I haven’t read any of these books either though the only one I do have on my shelf is Jellicoe Road. It’s sad to hear you couldn’t finish Ender’s Game, I would like to read it before the movie but the insane TBR pile is a sign that I shouldn’t buy another book!

  8. I loved the Little House books as a kid, though I haven’t looked through them in years. I keep hearing great things about Across the Universe; I’ve been meaning to read it. Thanks for sharing these!

  9. I’ve seen Jellico Road on A LOT of lists! I haven’t picked it up yet but everyone says it’s amazing. I hope you enjoy your books when you get to them – and yeah, sometimes you just have to cross them off your list if they aren’t for you! 😀

    April @ My Shelf Confessions

  10. I don’t own Jellicoe Road, but I really need to read it. It’s been on my TBR list for awhile. I keep checking the book out from the library, returning it unread, and then checking it out again!

  11. haha I need to read Gravey mercy and Iron Druid books also!

  12. I’ve only just read Across the Universe and have the second book waiting. Sometimes I like to wait until all the buzz has died down.

  13. I loved the Across the Universe series! And Jellicoe Road was one of my absolute favorite reads last year–I hope you love it! I’ve read the first 3 Jessica Darling books and I own the other two–I need to get to those sometime soon! Hope you can read all of these soon!

Leave a Reply

