Mondays With Megan-Spring Cleaning!

I have a love-hate relationship with Goodreads.com. I love that I can keep track of all the books I have read and want to read. I love that I see what other people are reading. I hate that it keeps telling me I am behind on my 2013 reading goals. I am also not thrilled with my enormous to-read list. Let’s face it, chances are pretty slim that I am not going to read all of the 214 items that are currently on the list. It’s time for some spring cleaning. I thing that anything added to the to-read list before 2011 can be removed. *UPDATE* Well, that did not go well. I removed four books. Time to reassess. I would like to whittle the list down to 200. It’s a totally arbitrary number, I know. But 200 is prettier than 211. Off I go. *UPDATE #2* Ok, this time I was ruthless, but my to-read shelf is a measly 190 books long! Please don’t ask me to explain what kind of sense this makes.

A sampling of what didn’t make the cut:
The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen, Ninth Grade Slays by Heather Brewer, Dead to You by Lisa McMann, and Ten Things We Did by Sarah Mylnowski are just a few that have been removed from the list. Any strong arguments for putting them back?

What was saved?
Son of the Mob by Gordon Korman has been on the list since 2009. I am planning to read it during this year’s Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon. If I don’ t read it in April, it’s off the list. The most recent addition is The Well’s Bequest by Polly Shulman. It is supposedly a companion to The Grimm Legacy, which was so cute.

I also made some progress on my currently-reading shelf. Time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Text for It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreadingMon Reading Button PB to YA

Finished:

poison jellicoe road delphine nantucket bluefrom bad to cursed

I really enjoyed Poison by Bridget Zinn and I finally get it when it comes to Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. I am so happy I decided to move that one from its dusty spot on the to-read list! I didn’t particularly enjoy Delphine by Richard Sala. The story was weird, but the illustrations were interesting. Finally, I got a little summery-romance fix with Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland. Look for a review later this week. Continuing my efforts to finish series that I have started and neglected, I finally picked up and flew through the second book in the Bad Girls Don’t Die trilogy, From Bad to Cursed by Katie Alender. I can’t wait to get to the final book!

Current Audio:

mr. penumbraI am enjoying Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. It’s a bizarre combo of dusty old books and crazy technology. There’s a secret society and a modern-day quest.

Currently Reading:

clockwork princess ashfall little women lost stories insomnia

I got Clockwork Princess last Thursday, but I let it sit unread until Sunday. I am torn between wanting to dive right and devour it and wanting to linger and savor it. So far linger and savor is winning. Speaking of linger, I continue to enjoy both Little Women by Louisa May Alcott and The Lost Stories by John Flanagan a few pages/chapters at a time. I have Ashfall by Mike Mullin on the Nook for elliptical time, and I just downloaded a new e-galley, Insomnia by J.R. Johansson. I have plenty to keep me busy this week!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

15 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Spring Cleaning!

  1. Just to counter the inevitable Dessen fans, I’ll say I really don’t get all the love for The Truth About Forever and don’t think you’ll miss it.

    If you don’t feel compelled to read Ninth Grade Slays after reading Eighth Grade Bites, I don’t have much argument for it, except to say that the series as a whole gets a lot deeper than I thought it would by the end.

  2. I’ve never heard of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, but it sounds right up my alley! Also, I feel your pain. I kind of avoid my Goodreads account because I feel like my shelves are constantly staring me down…

  3. I just finished From Bad to Cursed too, it was so good. I can’t wait to get book three, either. 🙂

  4. I’m not a huge Dessen fan, can take or leave most of hers, but I absolutely loved Truth About Forever. It’s one that I had to buy after reading a library copy, because I knew it would get re-read. (Jellicoe Road also falls into that category.)

  5. Nantucket Blue, Jellico Road, and Poison are all on my shelf/ereader waiting to bed read. I need to get to them soon.
    As far as the question you left on my post goes, I LOVED Eleanor and Park. I even got my husband to listen to the audio along with me, and he loved it too.

  6. Jellicoe Road is one of my favorites and I really need to catch on the Ranger’s Apprentice series one of these days. Enjoy!

    The Monster Report

  7. It’s so funny. I feel like reading your list is entering another world I don’t recognize. I haven’t read, nor do I recognize a single book! I’m intrigued. I think I’ll add one to my list soon. 🙂 Thanks.

    Kimberley
    First in Maine
    Academic Resources

  8. I liked Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore. It’s good to know that the audio version is great too!

  9. Ahhh, this is a great compilation of books! I’m glad to see more high praise for Poison. I always thought it looked great, but when I heard about Bridgett Zinn’s death it just made me want to read it that much more. Also, Jellico Road is one of those books I feel guilty for not reading, like I’ve failed the book blogging world.

    Oh my, Clockwork Princess. Le sigh. I finished it a few days back and I am still reeling from it.

    And I am a hardcore Dessen fan, though Truth About Forever was not my favorite by her. I can read Just Listen over and over, though.

    I hope you enjoy everything you plan on reading this week!
    My Monday post 🙂

    ~Gabbi

  10. Do you have the Goodreads app on your phone? I used to love it, but they did some updates to it and now it keeps forcing close- anyway, I do love Goodreads. I spend more time on there than any where else online probably. I try to clean out my lists every so often too, but sometimes it’s just so hard!

  11. I love your TBR conundrum! It’s so tricky! I agree. I love it but I also get frustrated. I see books that I added foreeeeeeever ago and there must be a reason I haven’t gotten to them yet. If they really have been there since 2010, what are the chances I’ll finally buckle own and read them? I may be doing some of my own spring TBR cleaning!

    I saw another IMWAYR blogger reading the 24 Hour Bookstore and I’m so intrigued! Thanks for sharing all of your books!

  12. I love the idea of spring cleaning my Good Reads TBR shelf. It could definitely use it! Love your currently reading shelf: I’m a huge Ashfall fan. I’ve been putting off Clockwork Princess as well but I know it will be amazing.

  13. Thanks for visiting my Bookegg blog and leaving a comment. I decided to return the favor. I squeaky squealed when I saw my favorite cover of Little Women. I have the same and it has the most beautiful illustrations. It was one of the most important book series I read as a kid. I still love it today.

Leave a Reply

