Top Ten Tuesday: The Books I Recommend Most

toptentuesday

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, was so easy! Really the hardest part was narrowing the list to ten-ish. You know how I don’t like to be limited to ten.

1. The Gallagher Girls & Heist Society series by Ally Carter. Easily the most recommended books ever. Why? First of all, they are just so much fun. Awesome female characters, super-spy action, and just a hint of good clean romance (because the romance is not the point. Girls kicking butt and being awesome is the point). I have no problem handing these books to a fifth grader or a high school reader.

i'd tell you heistsociety

2. Gone series by Michael Grant. The opposite of the above. Gruesome, terrify, brilliant horror. This series is not for everyone, but I give it to anyone looking to be freaked out. The U.S. covers do not help this series at all, but it is a g0-to series for me.

gone

3. The Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan. I love this series. It’s another one that is great for both younger and older readers. Great characters and plenty of action. I like giving this one to reluctant readers because the first volume is pretty slim. Very clever. Get them hooked and then write bigger books!

ruins

4. Uglies and Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld. I recommend both of these series all the time! I love that Uglies is a fast-paced and exciting read that lends itself to a lot of thoughtful discussion. The Leviathan trilogy is so unique and the awesome illustrations make it an easy sell.

uglies leviathan

5. The Drake ChroniclesΒ by Alyxandra Harvey. So, you are finished with Twilight and need a vampire fix? Please do yourself a favor and read about the Drakes. This stuff is so much better than Bella and Edward!

hearts

6. Hourglass by Myra McEntire and Ruby Red by Kiersten Gier. I have been on a time travel kick for a while now, so these two series get recommended a lot!

hourglass ruby red

7. Blood Red Road by Moira Young. It’s what you read after The Hunger Games!

blood red road

8. White Cat by Holly Black. It saddens me that I have to sell this one. It seems to just sit on the shelf unless I put it in someone’s hand. It’s so gritty and awesome. It’s the mob on magic, with a great male POV. I push this one every chance I get.

white cat

9. CinderΒ by Marissa Meyer. This is a newer addition to my most recommended repertoire, and I LOVE it!

cinder

10. Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer. I cannot get enough of Jacky Faber and I really wish everyone would love her.

bloody jack

A few of my most recommended non-YA titles:

ready spellmans 112263 henrietta sweetness blood oath garden spells rook

I could recommend books like it was my job. Oh, wait. It is my job! Lucky me. Well, part of it at least. One of the best parts, actually! But, that’s enough for one list.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

18 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: The Books I Recommend Most

  1. Such a great list! So many of these are on my booktalk list.

    Beth @ BethReads.com

  2. I also recommend Cinder and Uglies a lot! They’re both fantastic books!

  3. I just read Bloody Jack and loved it! Cinder and Ruby Red are both sitting on my shelves waiting to be read. They both sound amazing! Uglies and GG are awesome series, especially the latter. I’m dying to read Gone.

    Great recs! Thanks for stopping by my TTT. πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve been dying to read White Cat! It looks amazing! I totally agree with you about Ally Carter’s series… I just read Heist Society a few weeks ago and loved it! Can’t wait to read more of that series! Thanks for stopping by my TTT! I’ll be bumping up White Cat on my TBR!

  5. Awesome list! I’ve just started the Gallagher Girls series and I’m really enjoying it so far. I still need to read Cinder though. And seeing Ready Player One on your list of adult recommendations interests me, as I’ve seen the book mentioned tons but haven’t thought about picking up a copy for myself.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Asti (A Bookish Heart)

    Yes for Scott Westerfeld! Love his work. I picked up Uglies on a whim and then had to go out and read all of his other books. Great choice πŸ™‚

    Oh and I own White Cat, just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I need to get on that. So many books, so little time!

  7. I keep meaning to read Heist Society — it looks like so much fun!

    Thanks for sharing this list! I’m always interested in more strong YA books.

  8. I really must read Ready Player One! I’ve heard heaps of good stuff about it πŸ™‚ Thanks for checking out my TTT

  9. I just finished the Gallagher Girls first book! It was so good I kept getting annoyed when I had to put it down. πŸ™‚

  10. You have ‘Garden Spells’! We have to be BFF now – one of my favorite adult reads.

    Love your YA selections. There’s not a single one on here that I’ve heard a student say, “You know, I didn’t like that book.” A lot of great selections.

    Happy Reading!

    Crys

  11. Love Love Love that you have the Drake chronicles on there. Great choice! I read those so fast!! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I like yours here!

  12. Hourglass is a book that I need to read. It keeps cropping up and the series just sounds so, so good.

  13. I loved Uglies and Hourglass, I really need to read the rest of those series! I’ve really been wanting to read some of Ally Carter’s books, I’ve heard a lot of great things about them. Ruby Red also sound really good.

  14. Cinder and The Curse Workers are two of my favourites as well! I’ve thought about reading Blood Red Road, but I can’t get past the way it’s written. I’ve been meaning to read Uglies too!

  15. Cinder was on my TTT list, too! Such an amazing series. I really need to read the Gallagher series. It looks like so much fun.

  16. Wow, most of your recommended books are in my TRB list already. I really should start reading Cinder. I don’t know how I’d feel about a cyborg protagonist but yeah, I have the first two books in the series πŸ˜‰

  17. Wow, I definitely need to check out some of these series. I really want to read The Gallagher Girls series and the heist society. Cinder, White Cat and Blood Red Road were fantastic so I agree with you there. And now I’m thinking I should read the Gone series. Ahhhh…so many books. Thanks for all the recommendations! Sorry it took me a long time to comment back. πŸ˜€

  18. Gone!!! Yes, yes. (but I wouldn’t exactly call it horror…)
    I also loved White Cat, Ready Player One and 11/22/63 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

