Top Ten Tuesday: Books From Before the Blog

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a really interesting topic. Favorite books from before I had a book blog? Well, my first blog post was July 13, 2009 so I went back through my Goodreads shelves searching for titles that I added in 2008 and early 2009. This stroll down memory reminded me of two things. First, I did not start reading YA until I was in library school which was in May 2006. I read Harry Potter before that, but that’s it. Second, I discovered that my first YA picks were really awful! I apparently had really bad taste. I am sure that venturing out into the blogosphere really helped and I can say with confidence that I have excellent taste in books these days. This does not help me with today’s list however. It was slim pickings, but here are some of the better books I read prior to starting my blogging adventures.

1. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. The haters out there can hate, but I will always admit to getting swept up in this series. I may even reread them some day.

twilight

2. Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz. Twilight was like a vampire gateway drug. I needed more. I picked up this series and religiously followed it for a while. I am currently a couple of books behind, but I will probably finish the series eventually.

blue bloods

3. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. Everyone else was doing it too!

harry

4. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. I read this for a library school class. It was kind of a random pick, like most of my YA choices from that time. I LOVED it and plowed through the entire series and went on to read Westerfeld’s other YA novels. I am a fan. I should try some of his adult books some time. Or he should just hurry up and write a new YA series. Please?

uglies

5. Feed by M.T. Anderson. Prior to becoming a Teen Librarian, my only exposure to science fiction was A Wrinkle in Time. I was a life-long contemporary fiction reader. And then I started reading YA science fiction and I was hooked. I think this one stands the test of time (so does House of the Scorpion. My book club recently read it and they were shocked to learn it was written 11 years ago! But that is beside the point. The point is I really liked Feed).

feed

6. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. Again, not contemporary. A little historical, a little fantasy, and a whole lot of Libba Bray.

great

7. Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima. I loved the first book in the series and read the second. Why on earth have I not read the third book? Or started her second series? I really need to work on my local author reading!

warrior heir

8. The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson. More science fiction! I remember loving this one. I recently gave it to my book club and reread it for the first time in a few years. Still great! I didn’t love the sequel, but I have to know how the story ends so I will definitely be picking up Fox Forever. On a side note, I love the new covers.

adortation

9. Everlost by Neal Shusterman. This one was so creepy and I loved it! Why did I not continue the series. And why can I not seem to ever get into Unwind? We may never know the answers to these questions…

everlost

10. Sea Change by Aimee Friedman. I seem to be alone in my love for this book about mermen. It could be for good reason. I already confessed to my questionable taste during that time…At any rate, I just checked looked up my library’s copy and it hasn’t seen any action in a while. I suspect I will be weeding it soon.

sea change

This may be a record here…a true top ten list with no extras, add-ons, runners-up!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books From Before the Blog

  1. I adore the Gemma Doyle trilogy! Those books are sooo good! πŸ™‚

  2. There are a lot of books on your list that I’ve never picked up. I’ve read HP and Twilight, but not really any of the others. Off to check them out! Thanks for sharing!

  3. A Great and Terrible Beauty was so close to making my list. It was like #11. Such a great series. Lots of great books on your list! Some I need to read. πŸ™‚

    My Top Ten

  4. Amazing list!!! I totally forgot to put A Great and Terrible Beauty on my list, but I think that book is amazing! (Let’s face it, anyhting Libbra Bray writes will be awesome!!) Harry Potter is also a MUST!!
    My Top Ten Tuesday

  5. Seriously, I a bit cooncerned but anyones TTTs post this week that doesn’t inlcude Harry Potter. I shouldn’t be judgemental, but it’s Harry Freaking Potter! πŸ™‚

  6. I felt the same thing about Twilight and I should have added HP to my list as well. I loved A Great and Terrible Beauty!!

Leave a Reply

