Mondays With Megan: It’s National Library Week

CarolineKennedy_NLW13_Leaderboard

From the American Library Association:

“National Library Week (April 14 – 20, 2013) is a time to celebrate the contributions of our nation’s libraries and library workers and to promote library use and support. From free access to books and online resources for families to library business centers that help support entrepreneurship and retraining, libraries offer opportunity to all.

This year’s theme is “Communities matter @ your library,” reminding all Americans that the library can help you and your family discover a new and exciting world through collections, digital resources and more.”

I have been a life-long library user, even when I left my home state for college. In fact, for the four years that I lived in Washington, DC I had a local drivers license just so that I could get a public library card. I eventually took a very long and winding road back to the library world as a librarian and I love it! Despite my compulsive need to buy books, the majority of my reading, listening, and viewing materials still come from the public library.

I have had so much fun is my position as Teen Librarian. My favorite parts of my job are planning programs and ordering books. Over the past four years I think I have planned some pretty cool things. I have been allowed to host a zombie walk, a library lock-in, a cornhole tournament, an author visit, and numerous craft programs. The library has offered babysitting courses, practice ACT and SAT tests, and financial literacy programs. We resurrected the book club and Teen Advisory Group. I started this blog. I have been inspired and amazed by some pretty awesome teens and while it’s not all sunshine and roses, the good stuff always outweighs the challenges. The shameless gushing about how cool my job and library are is over for now so it’s time to check in with my favorite Monday meme hosts, Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA

Finished:

clockwork princess agatha boxers

I finally finished Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare! It was, wow. Just wow. I was concerned about the whole love triangle nonsense (Team Jem here), but it was resolved beautifully. Also, there were lots of tears. Based on a recommendation from a patron (I actually love when that happens) I picked up the beginning of the Agatha Heterodyne series. I will definitely continue with this fun steampunk series and look into adding it to my library’s collection. Finally, I devoured Boxers, a new graphic novel from Gene Luen Yang, due out in September of this year.

I continue to lag far behind on my Goodreads reading goal, so this week I am going to focus on finishing some of the books that I have started. Lost Stories, Little Women, and Fearless Fourteen, I am lookin’ at you!

lost stories little women fearless

I do have a couple of e-galleys that I would like to work on as well:

saints testing

I am sure I will zip through Saints, the companion to Boxers. I also have The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau to start. I think this is enough. I need to quit dragging my heels and get caught up!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

9 responses to “Mondays With Megan: It’s National Library Week

  1. Will that be your first read of Little Women, or a re-read? I haven’t read it in many years, but enjoyed the movie version with Katharine Hepburn recently, which made me think about re-reading it. Have a great week!

  2. I haven’t picked up a good YA book in awhile. Your post (and several others) reminds me I should!

  3. Oooo. The Agatha series looks awesome!

    My husband just bought clockwork princess – I’m still behind on those.

  4. Love love love Girl Genius. I need to catch up on The Ranger Apprentice series. I think I stopped on book 7? Not sure… 🙂

    The Monster Report

  5. Just got the Yang GNs in my Netgalley inbox; looking forward to reading them 🙂

    Happy reading this week 🙂

  6. You have some excellent books coming up. I am interested in that Infernal Devices series. Too many books, not enough time!!

  7. I read Little Women for the first time last year. I haven’t read Clockwork Princess but I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’ve only read the first book in the series.

    Happy National Library Week! It is great to be able to do a job you love and help people at the same time. Some of my favorite tasks as a librarian are also planning programs (especially adult summer reading program) and selecting books for adults and teens.

  8. Megan, I love my library! Like you, I have a compulsive need to buy books. I have more books in my apartment, house, Nook and Kindle than I could ever read, but I still go to the library every week. It’s such an amazing resource. My dream job is to be a librarian. One of these days . . . (Being an English teacher isn’t so bad either, though.) Thanks for the new titles. I’m going to Netgalley now – haven’t checked in in a while.

Leave a Reply

