Top Ten Tuesday National Library Week Edition: Books About Libraries and Librarians

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is a freebie. A perfectly timed freebie! In keeping with the spirit of National Library Week, I present give a list of books starring libraries and/or librarians.

1. Okay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt. I love this book and I love that Doug finds refuge in the library. Of course, the one librarian is presented as a stereotypical old biddy shusher. I suppose this portrayal is fitting of the time period. We aren’t like that at my library!

okay for now

2. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. I love that the young wizards, led by girl genius Hermione, often hit the library in search of answers. Again, a cranky librarian….sigh.

harry

3. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohls. Finally, an awesome librarian!

beautiful creatures

4. The Grimm Legacy by Polly Shulman. I thought I had my dream job until I read this book! Now I realize that my dream job is actually to be a librarian in a magical library, such as one that preserves the knowledge and artifacts related to the Grimm’s fairy tales. Love, love, love.

grimm legacy

5.Β  Americus by MK Reed. This graphic novel stars a typical (read: awkward) teen struggling to manage high school. He escapes into books and with the help of a dedicated librarian discovers an awesome book…which the towns people want banned. A great read!

americus

6. So You Want to Be a Wizard by Diane Duane. The adventures in this book would never have occurred without a friendly librarian putting the right book into the right person’s hands. (We pride ourselves in matchmaking!)

wizard

Here are a few I haven’t read yet…

7. Lirael by Garth Nix. This is part of the Ahborsen series and I will read it some day!

lirael

8. The Peculiars by Maureen Doyle McQuerry. This one apparently has a handsome librarian. Nice.

peculiars

9. Library Wars: Love & War by Kiiro Yumi. I really must get to reading this manga series! It’s government oppression vs. library lovers.

library wars

10. The Archived by Victoria Schwab. This one just came in to the library and I can’t wait to take it home. “Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.” Why, don’t mind if I do.

archived

BONUS: My favorite book featuring a library and librarians

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

shadow

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger was pretty darn good too!

time traveler's wife
Happy Library Week!

˜Megan

 

 

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday National Library Week Edition: Books About Libraries and Librarians

  1. What a fun TTT! The only books I’ve read from your list are the HP ones and The Time Traveler’s Wife, but I loved your descriptions of each. Makes me want to read them all πŸ™‚ Oh, and I do have a book about libraries sitting on my TBR very, very soon shelf — THE WORLD’S STRONGEST LIBRARIAN. I can’t wait to dive into it!

  2. πŸ˜€ Yay for NLW! Great books on that list and that does not include some of the beautifully done picture books out there too.. πŸ™‚

  3. That is such a great list!! What a cool list topic!
    I am totally going to check out some of those!

    My TTT

  4. Great choice πŸ™‚ I have to read Americus. It looks great, plus I have a thing for graphic novels. Thanks for stopping by my TTT.

  5. Yeah Love both Beautiful Creatures and Harry Potter (: I have not yet read Library wars though.

    Thanks for stopping by love the list!

  6. Awesome list! That stereotypical librarian is so often used in books and movies. Drives me crazy. Like you said, we aren’t like that at my library either!!!

    Also, now I want to read So You Want to be a Wizard. πŸ™‚

  7. Yes! I love your TTT subject!! I’ve always wanted to be a librarian and now I can live vicariously through these books!! I’ve only read HP and The Time Travelers Wife, but I’ll have to check out the others!

    Thanks for stopping by my little space, and so happy I swung by yours!

  8. Fantastic idea for your list! It is always interesting to see how librarians and libraries are portrayed in fiction. I love the Harry Potter series and how important the library is but I was disappointed that Madam Pince was so mean (though there are days when I feel like that-but I’m nice to the patrons anyway)!

    I did like the librarian in Beautiful Creatures. The Grimm Legacy sounds like a lot of fun and I want to read it someday.

    Happy NLW!

  9. Ahhhh I really need to make reading The Shadow of the Wind a priority. I’ve had it in my ibooks for way too long, and I’ve heard such fantastic things. And definitely read Lirael when you find the time! Love that series so much πŸ˜€ Great list!

Leave a Reply

