Mondays With Megan: Earth Day 2013 Edition

loraxDid you know the first Earth Day was celebrated April 22, 1970 and that The Lorax by Dr. Seuss was published in 1971? Coincidence? I think not! In honor of Earth Day I have put together of list books that will get you thinking about the environment. You should also give The Lorax a quick read (or reread!).

Fiction:

my life flush rootless endangered ship breaker ashfall life as we knew it breathe

These are just a few books that have an environmental theme. I have only had a chance to read half of them (the bottom row). I have heard great things about Endangered by Eliot Schafer and my readers seem to love My Life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald!

Nonfiction:

50 things green generation tracking trash

If these books don’t inspire you to hug (or even better, plant) a tree, I just don’t know what will!

Now for a quick reading week recap. Time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Text for It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

While I am still way behind in my reading, I FINALLY finished those books that I have been reading for AGES!

Finished:

little women lost stories saints fearless

Can you believe that this is my first time reading Little Women? I really enjoyed this one! I am so happy that there is going to be one more in the Ranger’s Apprentice series because the collection of short stories left me misty eyed more than once. Saints in the companion to Boxers, which I really enjoyed. I will work on a review this week. And good old Stephanie Plum is always good for a laugh.

Current Audio:

golem caleb

I am almost finished with The Golem’s Eye by Jonathan Stroud. I think I like this second installment in the Bartimaeus series better than the first! With the weather getting nicer and my neurotic dog getting braver, I am getting in more walks. Which means more Playaways! I am currently listening to Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks.

Currently Reading (print and e-books)

mind games testing shatter me

On Deck:

life after life

My next book on CD is Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. I am not sure what books I will read next. I am stock-piling for this weekend’s readathon!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Mondays With Megan: Earth Day 2013 Edition

  1. I really liked Caleb’s Crossing! I’m a big Geraldine Brooks fan! Since you read Little Women, you’ll have to read her book March. I like your ideas for Earth Day. I’ve been wanting to read Endangered! I read Life As We Knew It and Shipbreaker. I, too, want to read Life After Life! Happy Reading!

  2. Great list of Earth Day books! I keep meaning to read Shipbreaker.

  3. I’ve never read Little Women, but I was considering Shatter Me. I’d love to know what you think.

    My Monday

  4. I second Christi’s recommendation for you to read Brooks’ March — very interesting perspective on Mr. March. LOVE the Earth Day related theme — great idea!

  5. I’ve heard great things about The Testing already, so I hope you like it! Love your list of Earth Day books, I especially enjoyed reading Life as We Knew It.

    The Monster Report

  6. Mind Games is soooooo good!!! And Shatter Me has such an orginial voice…very unique for the author! Enjoy!

  7. Wow, so much good stuff here to comment on! Love your list of books with an environmental theme – all of Hiaissen’s books (both kids and adults) are great choices – he’s got such a good sense of humor! Our family listened to Ship Breaker on audio and really liked it. And I would love to read Endangered. Have you ever read Congo by Michael Crichton – one of my favorites.

    I loved Caleb’s Crossing (and all of Brooks’ other novels, too). Now that you’ve read Little Women, have you read March by Brooks? It’s about what the March girls’ father went through while he was away at war – so good!! I got to hear Brooks speak two weeks ago – she is a very entertaining speaker and no one writes historical fiction like her!

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

    Great Books for Kids and Teens

    Book By Book

Leave a Reply

