Top Ten Tueday: Books I Liked More Than I Expected

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is all about surprises. We all have them, good and bad. That book you were dying to read that turned out to be less than awesome? Or that little gem that you never knew you were looking for? Yup. Those surprises. Since I am having a great day, I am going to keep it all positive and share the books that I ended up LOVING more than I ever expected. I love when that happens!

1. The Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan. I think I talk about this series more than I talk about Bloody Jack (another happy surprise) and Gone (a mild obsession, I know). I picked this one up in an attempt to expand my repertoire of “boy” books. I did not expect to fall in love…

ruins

2. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I was not a fan of Shiver (this would be on the LESS side, if I were to make that list…) but everyone was raving about this one so I gave it a shot. I would like to thank myself for being open-minded. This book rocks and I can’t wait for more!

raven boys

3. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I struggled with this one. I tried to read it and love it, but returned it to the library more than once unfinished. But the blogosphere was on fire with all the love and I was feeling left out, so I made one last effort with an audio version. Huzzah! I have all the love now too!

daughter of smoke

4. I am the Messenger by Marcus Zusak. So that problem that I had with #3? Same issue with The Book Thief. After finally having all the love for that one I sought out more. Ed Kennedy won me over in a heartbeat!

messenger

5. The Drake Chronicles by Alyxandra Harvey. Confession: I tend to look down on paperback series. I know, so snobby. So when I was looking for a vampire romance fix and found this series I didn’t expect much. Well, let me tell you, this series is AWESOME!

blood feud

6. Blood Red Road by Moira Young. I think this was the first ARC of my library career and let me tell you, I was not impressed. I let it collect dust on my desk until guilt got the best of me. A struggle with the dialect for a while, but once I got used to it I was sucked in to the story! Best Hunger Games readalike out there.

blood red road

7. Mothership by Martin Leitch. I expected this one to be super cheesy. It was in a totally campy awesome way! I laughed out loud as I read this one in a single sitting. I want more. It’s like candy!

mothership

8. Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. I don’t do fantasy. But apparently I do peer pressure! All the cool kids at work were talking about it and I just had to join in. I almost didn’t make it, but somewhere around page 200 (out of a bazillion!) everything clicked and I was hooked!

game

9. Okay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt. I only picked this one up because of all the Newbery Award hubbub. I did not expect to become so completely emotionally tangled up with Doug and his problems. And the birds! Audubon’s birds! Really? Yes! I have read this one twice now and I am sure I will read it again.

okay for now

10. Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly. I keep telling myself that I don’t do historical fiction. I should just shut up, because I am a big fat liar. I really enjoy historical fiction! But I went into Revolution with an attitude, so I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this one. Now, repeat after me: historical fiction is fun!

revolution

Runners Up: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, Hold Me Closer Necromancer by Lish McBride, and The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

9 responses to “Top Ten Tueday: Books I Liked More Than I Expected

  1. I absolutely love Donnelly’s A Northern Light, so it’s good to know that even a non-historical fiction lover appreciated Revolution!

  2. I’ve debated over whether or not I want to read Game of Thrones. Love the show, but I’ve heard that you either like the book or you don’t. I might give it a shot.

    And even though I really disliked Shiver, I might give The Raven Boys a read. I read another novel by Maggie Stiefvater after I read Shiver and I remember that I actually liked that one, even though I can’t remember the name of it off of the top of my head lol.

  3. I never got into the Shiver series, but really enjoyed The Raven Boys. Way more than I thought I would. Mothership sounds interesting. I’ll have to pick that one up.
    Here’s my TTT

  4. I wasn’t going to read Game of Thrones, either, until I found out my mom was super into the TV series. And I generally always want to read the book before I see the show/movie. I read all the way until about halfway through Book 5, at which point I was slightly perturbed that so many of my favorite characters had died (what up, George RR Martin? Is the series going to end with every last character we care about dead?). However, since I’ve been watching season 3 lately, I may pick up Book 5 again as I’m ever so curious what happens to Arya and Jon Snow.

  5. I completely forgot about Blood Red Road. It’d have been on my list of books I didn’t enjoy as much as I thought I would, however, but it was still enjoyable. Just not as much as I’d thought.
    Great list!
    My TTT

  6. Oooo, listening to The Daughter of Smoke and Bone via audiobook is such a good idea. I haven’t been able to get into the print book, but I bet the audiobook would be just perfect for me. Thanks for the recommendation!

  7. I enjoy some historical fiction, but not all the time. I have been meaning to read Revolution, ever since Junior year and one of my friends was reading it and recommended it.

    I am (stubbornly) refusing to read Blood Red Road. I mean, if it’s a short story that’s required for school, I’ll read it, but it’ll still drive me insane., I am, of course, talking about the dialogue with no quotation marks.

  8. Game of Thrones intimidates me by its sheer size. Though, I have been hearing really good review of it as of late, like yours, so I may have to overcome my fear…
    And the Rangers Apprentice!!! They were so good, and I felt so depressed when they ended!!!

  9. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Top Ten Tuesday Topics-6/23/15 | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

