Mondays with Megan: Bout of Books Readathon 2013

Happy Monday! Did you enjoy the beautiful weekend? Did you get a free comic book on Free Comic Book Day? I gave out almost 200 free comics this weekend! My Monday offerings are pretty slim this week compared to last week’s post-readathon boon. Luckily I have found another readathon to join! It is almost time for Bout of Books 7.o!

Bout of Books
“The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week-long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 13th and runs through Sunday, May 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 7.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team”
I am signing up today! Now I need to think about my goals…In the meantime, it’s time to join Book Journey and Teach Mentor Text for another round of It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA
Finished:
caleb nightmare affair boys of steel
I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks. It slowly crept up on me and by the end I was so invested in the characters that I was sad to be finished. The Nightmare Affair is a really fun debut novel by local (Ohio) author, Mindee Arnett. I am a sucker for a boarding school story and this one has a great mystery and paranormal elements as well. Total win. Finally, I read Boys of Steel: the Creators of Superman by Marc Tyler Nobleman. Yes, it’s a picture book, but it was lovely and the information in the afterward was very enlightening. I definitely recommend it.
Current Audio:
life after life
I am so hooked on this one!
Currently Reading:
dare you to life as we knew it sasquatch escape
I am almost finished with both of these. Dare You To is great and Life As We Knew It is a reread for book club. I also started a new middle grade book, The Sasquatch Escape by Suzanne Selfors. I am pretty sure it’s going to be fun. I have to confess I have abandoned a few books along the way, but I plan to go back to them.
On Deck:
game
I have been all over the place with my reading, so I am not really sure what will come next, except for this one! I can’t wait to dig into Game, the sequel to I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga!
Happy Reading!
˜Megan
9 responses to “Mondays with Megan: Bout of Books Readathon 2013

  1. I am going to have to definitely read The Nightmare Affair – I am a sucker for boarding school stories as well! And paranormal on top of it? Sounds perfect for me!

  2. The Nightmare Affair just went on the TBR! And glad to hear you enjoyed Caleb’s Crossing . . . I haven’t gotten to it yet, but have enjoyed others I’ve read from Brooks. Have fun with your read-a-thon challenge!

  3. I loved Caleb’s Crossing and have to read Life After Life – it’s getting so much attention!

  4. I love how you differentiate between what you’re listening to and actually reading. I do a lot of audiobooks but don’t always distinguish between the two. My favorite all-time narrator is Cassandra Clare in Harvesting the Heart by Jodi Picoult. If you like realistic fiction at all (or Picoult) then it’s a must-listen!
    I’ve got I Hunt Killers on my to-read list!
    🙂 Erin
    I’m Lovin Lit

  5. Life After Life looks amazing! I added it to my TBR list.

  6. I finished Dare You To last week. It’s so good! I just love Katie McGarry and I want Isaiah’s story yesterday!

    I’m also going to be participating in Bout of Books. It will be my first readathon, and I am super excited!!

  7. I haven’t tried audio books yet, but I remembered trying to make one as a child (in cassette tapes) even before audio books were all the rage – because I was loathe to return the books I borrowed from a cousin of mine. I was recording myself reading Little Women – now that I think back on it, I must have been a visionary then. Haha. 🙂

  8. Good luck with Bout of Books this week! Dare You To is on my list. I hope I get to it this week during the readathon. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

