Top Ten Tuesday: On the Light Side

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is all about the light side. Those fun, breezy, or humorous books that are guaranteed to entertain without any effort on the part of the reader. As I was compiling my list I noticed that it is super girly, so my new goal is to find light reads for guys. Any suggestions?

1. The Ruby Oliver series by E. Lockhart. Very cute, very funny.

boyfriend list

2. Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman. This is Jane Austen meet Glee.

enthusiasm

3. Also Known As by Robin Benway. Spies + kissing=fun times!

also known as

4. Mothership by Martin Leicht. I can’t plug this goofy, campy book enough. Laugh out loud.

mothership

5. Poison by Bridget Zinn. I recently enjoyed this charming debut. A must read for the fairy tale lover.

poison

6. Going VintageΒ by Lindsay Leavitt. Everything old is new again in this retro-inspired new novel.

going vintage

7. Past Perfect by Leila Sales. Just look at that cover! How can it not be fun?

past perfect

8. No More Dead DogsΒ by Gordon Korman. Hey! Look at that, I thought of some guy-friendly light reads!

no more dead dogs

9. Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford. A hilarious and awkward look at being a freshman guy.

carter

10. The Big Book of Barry Ween by Judd Winick. I love this giant collection of Barry Ween adventures. It’s like Bart Simpson meets Calvin and Hobbes. Totally guy-friendly.

barry ween

Bonus:

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kindgom by Christopher Healy. I love this middle grade book about the Princes Charming and their not-so-princely charms.

hero's guide

How about some Adult reads (that would also probably appeal to some teens)?

The Flavia de Luce mystery series by Alan Bradley. 1950s England, plucky pre-teen sleuth who has a love of poisons.

sweetness

The Spellman Files series by Lisa Lutz. A totally hilarious and dysfunctional family of private investigators. I am so thrilled that there will be one more new book in this series! spellmansnew

The Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. My favorite flavor of book candy. Predictable, light, and often ridiculous.

one for the money

What’s one your light and fun list? Any great guy reads? I obviously need them!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

13 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: On the Light Side

  1. I think I should read Also Known As. It looks great. Fab list πŸ™‚

  2. I love the Ruby Oliver series. I’ve heard great things about Mothership, but still need to pick it up. Great list!
    Natflix&Books’ TTT

  3. comehometobooks

    I included GOING VINTAGE on my list, even though I haven’t actually read it yet! I’ve read and enjoyed the author’s other books, so I figure I’m probably going to enjoy this one, too. I’ve seen it on a few lists this morning πŸ™‚

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  4. I think I definitely need to read Mothership. It sounds hilarious.

    My Top Ten

  5. AKA and Poison are so fun. Mothership sounds like it totally fits the bill, and I can’t wait to check out Going Vintage and Past Perfect. Fab list!

  6. Great list! I just add The Boyfriend list to my TBR list.
    Here is My Top 10 Tuesday

  7. I had such a hard time thinking of YA books I loved that were light and fun…then I got smacked with the “duh” when I saw everyone else’s lists. How could I forget Enthusiasm? And Gordon Korman? Great list.

  8. Flavia de Luce is one of my all time favorite mystery series!!! How could I have forgotten this on my list!!! And I’ve been dying to read Also Known As and Poison! They sound awesome!!!
    Here’s my TTT

  9. Christina (BookTasty)

    Poison made my list this week too! I really, really enjoyed it! Also, I completely LOVE Ruby Oliver. She is one of my favorite fictional characters hands down πŸ™‚

  10. Great list! I need to read The Spellman Files. I have the first book on my Kindle but forgot about it.

    I loved Going Vintage and Poison. Enthusiasm was fun too.

  11. Great list! I want to read Also Known As and Poison really badly.

    My Top Ten

  12. Ahh, I read about the Ruby Oliver list everywhere, but for some reason, I can’t really get into the story. I have tried it twice now, but it just won’t work for me….maybe I’ll try again when I crave something “light and funn” πŸ™‚ Great list!

  13. Great list! I love the Flavia de Luce books. I just read Speaking from Among the Bones and loved it. I cannot wait for the next one. And No More Dead Dogs is tons of fun. Oh, and AKA! Talking about LOL funny.

Leave a Reply

