Mondays With Megan-Bout of Books Day 1 and What Are You Reading

frozen flwoerfrozen flwoer˜photo by Giant Gingko

Dear Mother Nature,

It is cruel to give us spring than snatch it away! But, since there is just no reasoning with you, I will take advantage of the chilly weather and snuggle up under my blanket (I stubbornly refuse to turn the heat back on) and read!

Love,

Megan

Let’s get started with all the Monday updates. First a check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts with a It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? report.

mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA

Finished:

swirlies sasquatch escape life as we knew it dare you to night she disappeared life after life

I killed it last week (and yet, I am still 4 books behind on my goal….grr)! I love Lenore by Dirge Roman and Swirlies was my favorite in the collection! The Sasquatch Escape by Suzanne Selfor is the first in a new middle grade series. It was a cute set-up and I will probably look for the next one, but it didn’t wow me. Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer was a book club reread. Still freaks me out. Dare You To by Katie McGarry was my favorite read of the week. I loved the good boy-bad girl twist. The Night She Disappeared by April Henry was a fast read and I have to admit, I felt a little weird reading it in light of the recent events here in Cleveland with the missing women, but I did enjoy it. Finally, I wrapped up listening to Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. Amazing.

Currently Reading:

45 pounds one moment my one square inch

I have an e-galley of 45 Pounds (More or Less) by K.A. Barson that I am just getting into. After this weekend’s Ohioana Book Festival I picked up One Moment by Kristina McBride and got sucked right in. I have no doubt I will finish tonight. I am also still plugging away at My One Square Inch of Alaska by Sharon Short (another Ohio author!). I decided to give it my full attention this week.

Currently Audio:

magicians lady almina

I am trying to address some of the items that have been languishing on my TBR list. To that end, I am going to start listening to The Magicians by Lev Grossman. I currently have Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey by Fiona Carnarvon on Playaway. Honestly, it’s nothing spectacular, but it is enjoyable.

On Deck:

I have big plans for the week as I participate in Bout of Books 7.0. To see what’s on deck this week check out my goals post.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

12 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Bout of Books Day 1 and What Are You Reading

  1. I am so with you about Mother Nature. It’s freezing today. Brrrr.

    I am so glad you like Dare You To. I loved it and actually posted my review today.

  2. I wish I could share some of my hot weather with you! It is sweltering in my area.
    Have fun with Bout of Books! 45 Pounds sounds fantastic. Maybe I’ll have to pick up the Life after Life audio.

  3. Wacky weather, indeed! I agree, stay close to your books and blankets!

    I’ll have to check out Sasquatch since here in the NW, we are deep in Sasquatch-territory!

  4. I’m glad you liked Life After Life! I just ordered the Kindle version! I agree that Life As We Knew It was freaky!! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. I loved “Life as we knew it.” Thought is was an awesome, science-y read. This weekend I read “The 5th Wave” by Yancey. I highly recommend it. it was awesome.

  6. I loved Dare You To. I thought it was better than Pushing the Limits. Good luck with the read-a-thon. I am participating too.

  7. I read Life As We Know It and Ashfall this summer…they TRULY scared me!! There’s a new book in the LAWKI series that’s coming out this fall, so I need to catch up with the series.
    I loved Dare You To as well! I haven’t read Pushing the Limits, so I need to get on that.

  8. I am stubbornly refusing to turn on the heat also. Luckily, I have a nice little space heater that can help with the frigid temps inside. It sounds like you had a great reading week. I always have multiple books to add to the TBR list when I read your Monday post. I really want to read Life As We Know It soon. Good luck with your goals this week.

  9. I really need to get around to reading Dare You To. I hope you end up liking One Moment. I really enjoyed it and was a bit surprised by some of the negative reviews. Thanks for stopping by.

  10. I didn’t love The Magicians, but it was interesting and I hope you like it. And I broke down and turned on my heat!

  11. I just requested Sasquatch for review…I was afraid it wouldn’t be all that spectacular :/ thanks for the honest opinion!

  12. If you’re a reader, you’ve got a valid opinion!! Don’t undersell your thoughts on MG novels! I will certainly share my thoughts with you after reading it…when I get to it. I am happily buried in titles to read!

Leave a Reply

