Top Ten Tuesday Freebie-Favorite Graphic Novels

toptentuesdayThe Broke and the Bookish, the awesome hosts of Top Ten Tuesday, have left this one up to us. Since I am feel like I am always yammering on about same books, I thought I would mention some of the graphic novels I have come to love. You’ll find a lot of these in the adult collection.

1. Fables by Bill Willingham. My graphic novels training wheels. So amazing and beautiful that I am slowly purchasing them for my own personal collection. I will reread these for sure.

fables

2. The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman. I am not current on the TV series, but I am totally up to date on the graphic novel series. This series is so ugly and disturbing and terrifying. It gives me nightmares and I just can’t stop.

walking dead

3. Chi’s Sweet Home by Kanata Konami. And because I am not a psychopath, I also LOVE this charming little series about an adorable and precocious kitten.

chi 1

4. Locke & Key by Joe Hill. Ok, so the kitten the anomaly here. Fine. I admit it, I love the creepy stuff. This is another favorite and a series that I will most likely revisit (which is a big deal, but I am not usually a rereader).

locke and key

5. The Marvelous Land of Oz by Eric Shanower. But wait! Look how cute! And hardly creepy at all. I just recently discovered this series in our children’s department. The illustrations are so beautiful. I want to frame the pages and decorate my home with panels from the books.

marvelous oz

6. Lenore by Dirge Roman. I am late to the party here, but last year I gobbled up the Lenore, The Pretty Little Dead Girl collection. This is dark humor at its sickest.

noogies

7. Cirque du Freak by Darren Shan. I could not bring myself to start this series in their novel form so the graphic novel version was the perfect solution! Really enjoyed this series.

cirque du freak manga 1

8. Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley. The perfect foodie memoir. I read this recently and will certainly pick it up again. I probably gift it to a few people as well. A gem.

relish

9. The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt by Caroline Preston. This lovely book was a perfect companion to Paula McLain’s The Paris Wife. Got Gatsby Fever? Check this out!

frankie pratt

10. Boxers and Saints by Gene Luen Yang. These two companion books will be coming out in the fall, but I got to read them early! These are definitely my favorites by this author. I can’t wait to have them in the library so that I can recommend them to people.

boxers saints

Honorable Mentions

barry ween plain janes alice

Do you read graphic novels? Feel free to send me recommendations. I am always looking for a new book. I especially love a series.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday Freebie-Favorite Graphic Novels

  1. I was very impressed by this list, mainly because I had not heard of any of these books. See my Top Ten here: http://meandu-justthinking.blogspot.ca/2013/05/top-ten-tuesday-2.html

  2. Nice list. I’ve only recently started looking into graphic novels, and these look pretty cool. I especially like the look of Fables. I’ll have to check it out.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

  3. I’ve been meaning to find some more graphic novels to read, and I think I’ll be taking several of these as suggestions. Fables looks especially interesting. This is a cool list!

    My TTT
    Alex @ The Book Banner

  4. LOVE LOVE your list!
    I am a huge Fables fan and Locke and Key fan. Great Bill Willingham can do no wrong! 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever read a graphic novel, so this gives me a great place to start!

  6. Just added Lenore to my to-read list. The Plain Janes had a really nice message. Gotta read book two. Thanks for stopping by my TTT.

Leave a Reply

