Mondays with Megan-Getting Ready for Summer!

beneath-the-surface-banner

Happy Monday! Despite the sunny but brisk weather, summer is on my mind. Specifically, summer reading. I will be spending the rest of the week putting the finishing touches on my weekly prize baskets. I have brag a little because my baskets are looking really good! Summer reading at the library is so easy: 1. sign up at the Reference Desk (we will give you an awesome gift just for putting your name on a clipboard. It doesn’t get much easier than that folks.) 2. Read or listen to books. Any books. 3. Fill out a slip for each book you read or listen to and drop it in the contest box at the AV desk (make sure you pick the right box! The teen box is at the back desk). 4. Cross your fingers that you will win a weekly prize!

Need some reading suggestions? Check out the selection of Beneath the Surface reads on the display cart by the Teen Room.

And now for two weeks worth of reading! Stop by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more awesome lists

mondayreading monday2

Finished:

for the good of mankind lady almina rules ozma magicians heros guide

I loved The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle by Christopher Healy. It’s even better than the first one, with lots of silly humor, misadventures, surprising developments and more! I also loved Ozma of Oz by Eric Shanower. So much. So lovely. The Magicians by Lev Grossman was not what I was expecting, but it ended up growing on me enough that I want to find out what happens next. The Rules by Stacey Kade was also a bit of a surprise. I really enjoyed it, but if you are looking for intense alien action, you won’t find a ton here. I will definitely be picking up the next one. Lady Almina by Fiona Carnarvon was a nice audio and perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. Finally, I finished For the Good of Mankind? by Vicki O. Wittenstein. I had an e-galley of this nonfiction title. I need to work on a review, but it was an interesting look at the history of human medical experimentation.

Current Audio:

in darkness dressmaker

In the car I have the current Prinz winner, In Darkness by Nick Lake. I admit that I was not very interested in this title before, but now feel obligated to check it out. The narrator is wonderful and two discs in I am starting to get into the story. I have Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker by Jennifer Chiaverini on Playaway. So far, I am not impressed, but since it is a fall book club selection I will carry on.

Currently Reading:

far far away someday someday maybe

I am working on an e-galley of Far Far Away by Tom McNeal. It is so unusual and I am really enjoying it. Tonight I plan to start Someday Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham.

On Deck:

as dead as it gets sixteen

I never can tell what book I will want to read next, but I have been slacking on my series so I would like to read either the final Bad Girls book by Katie Alender and/or another Stephanie Plum. Or maybe I will read something totally different. Who knows?!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Getting Ready for Summer!

  1. Ozma of Oz looks really cute! That one is a graphic novel right? I love summer reading and will be signing up at my library this week. 🙂 So excited!

    The Monster Report

  2. I really liked first Hero’s Guide book and want to read the sequel. I’m glad to hear you liked it even more. Someday, Someday, Maybe is another book I want to read. I was a huge fan of Lauren Graham on Gilmore Girls and so far the reviews have been really positive for this book.

    I love summer reading program! I made themed baskets for adult SRP. It seems to draw a lot more participation. Our program just started today and I feel like I’m not ready for it yet.

    Have a great week and happy reading!

  3. I finished The Rules this week, too! I agree that it wasn’t heavy on the otherworldly action. It read more like a contemporary than anything, I think. I haven’t read any of these other books but the cover of For the Good of Mankind looks creepy.

    Hope you enjoy all your wonderful books this week! 🙂

    ~ Gabbi
    My Monday post!

  4. I really enjoyed The Magicians and its sequel. The third book should be out next year and I am psyched.
    Have a fantastic week and enjoy your reads!

  5. Rose Milligan

    Ozma of Oz has a cute cover. I like the Wizard of Oz books so I think I would like to read these books. I’m reading Brave New World by Aldous Huxley and Forever in Blue by Ann Brashares.

  6. The Hero’s Guide to books sound fun. I hope you like Far Far Away. I just got this book myself that I still need to read. 🙂
    here is my Monday post.

Leave a Reply

