Mondays With Megan: My Week of Ghost Stories

Happy Monday! It’s an exciting day here at the library. It’s Summer Reading Time. Summer reading combines all of my favorite things: lists (come in and add your name to the sign up list), books (fill out a slip for each book you read. Each slip is a chance to win an awesome prize), and prizes (you get a gift for signing up and each week I will randomly draw a winner for a fabulous basket full of goodies!). I also get to spend the next 8 weeks obsessing over numbers and stats. I don’t like to do much math, but I do love some stats. Here are the numbers I will obsess over this summer: 106 and 540. Last year 106 teens read 540 books. Can the teens beat that? I think so!

As I was compiling my list of books read last week I noticed an unintended pattern. I read a lot of books about ghosts! Be sure to visit Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading monday2

Finished:

doll bones spirit and dust

I LOVED both of these books. Doll Bones by Holly Black is the story Zach, Poppy, and Alice, three 12-year-olds who are best friends. They have spent years playing a complex imaginary game, but things change when Zach suddenly quits, claiming they are too old to play make-believe. One night the girls come to Zach with the story of a haunted doll, an unsolved murder, and a ghost that needs being put to rest. It doesn’t take much to convince Zach to join their quest. For me, this book was more about growing up than about ghosts and I truly loved it.  Spirit and Dust by Rosemary Clement-Moore, is the second book in the Goodnight Family series (The first is Texas Gothic). I could not put this one down! The start of the book is Daisy Goodnight. In addition to be brilliant, she can also communicate with ghosts. While freelancing on a case for the FBI Daisy is kidnapped by the mob and drawn into a ghostly world of mobsters, magic, and secret societies. I liked this one even better than the first! It’s as if Maureen Johnson’s Shades of London series had a baby with Rick Riordan’s Kane Chronicles.

Currently Reading:

far far away as dead as it gets sixteen

More ghosts! Far Far Away by Tom McNeal features the ghost of Jacob Grimm. He is much nicer than the vengeful ghost in As Dead As It Gets by Katie Alender. Two different ghosts, two awesome books. And I couldn’t resist another Stephanie Plum. So far no ghosts in this one.

Current Audio:

in darkness mrs lincoln

I am still working on In Darkness by Nick Lake and Mrs.Lincoln’s Dressmaker by Jennifer Chiaverini. I am almost finished with In Darkness. You know, I almost quit on this one. The violence is so horrifically graphic, but I fast forwarded through the gruesome bits and discovered that the story is absolutely riveting. At the half-way point in Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker, things have started to pick up. Still not a favorite, but I am interested.

On Deck:

how zoe nothing proxy art forger

I think a sweet summer romance and a fun graphic novel will be just what I need after all my ghost stories!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

9 responses to “Mondays With Megan: My Week of Ghost Stories

  1. I need to experience a few good audio books. I know it would drastically impact the amount of reading I would be able to do, but I just haven’t latched onto audio versions yet. I’m so impressed with your book lists! 🙂

  2. Your comments about In Darkness are really interesting. I did skim those parts because I felt disturbed and I can see how listening to it would be worse. I think I especially had a hard time at the beginning when he is describing how he is surviving in the dark. Doll Bones is definitely on my TBR list. I love Stephanie Plum and her antics…and Ranger and Morelli 🙂

  3. I’ve been hearing really good things about Doll Bones…added that one to the TBR list!

  4. I am going to have to check into Dog Bones…yours is the second thumbs up today!

  5. Lots of love for Doll Bones out there–so, so, good! Your summary is perfectly concise and intriguing! And all those other spooky reads! I recently was thumbing through the Art Forger at the bookstore–sounds great too! And yes, you MUST check out Eleanor and Park. A romance, but definitely not a light-hearted one to meet your current reading cravings!

  6. I have Doll Bones checked out and waiting to be read. So good to hear it’s as good as it sounded. Stephanie Plum books are irresistible aren’t they?

  7. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    I’ve been very curious about Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker. I hope it picks up for you. I also hope that you enjoy The Art Forger as much as I did!

    Happy Reading 🙂

  8. I still need to read Far, Far away. I hope you like it. Glad you liked Doll Bones!
    Here is my Monday post.

Leave a Reply

