Far Far Away by Tom McNeal

far far away

Far Far Away by Tom McNeal
Random House Children’s Books
June 18, 2013
384 pgs

Jeremy Johnson Johnson lives with his father in the back of the family bookstore in the sleepy little town of Never Better, USA. After Jeremy’s mother ran off, his father became a recluse, often refusing to leave even leave his bed. It’s not as if the bookstore needs his help. The only book on the shelves is Jeremy’s grandfather’s two-volume autobiography. All this is strange enough, but the real reason the towns people shun Jeremy is because he once admitted to hearing voices. Actually, just one voice. Jeremy’s best friend is the ghost of Jacob Grimm. As in one half of the fairy tale-telling Brothers Grimm. Jacob is trapped between worlds and while he tries to figure out how to move on, he has declared himself Jeremy’s protector. When Jeremy catches the attention of the vivacious and charismatic Ginger, a shocking series of events is set in to motion and Jacob may be helpless to save his friend.

From start to finish, Far Far Away is a modern fairy tale in true Grimm fashion. It is magical and horrifying and is guaranteed to enchant the patient reader. There is something for everyone in this book-quirky characters, suspense, mystery, charming romance, and a pinch of totally creepy. The stories within the story are just an extra bonus. It may take some work selling this to teens, but I think it is totally worth the effort.

Readalikes: The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab, The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon,  and Doll Bones by Holly Black

An e-galley of this book was provided by the publisher and NetGalley.com for review.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Advertisements

One response to “Far Far Away by Tom McNeal

  1. Pingback: Mondays With Megan-It’s Monday Already? 6/17/13 | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s