Mondays With Megan-It’s Monday Already? 6/17/13

My coffee cup is empty and that is a problem. I’ll get a refill soon, but in the meantime I will attempt to form coherent thoughts and sentences. What an exhausting and fun weekend! I hope you had a good one too. Friday night I sat on my porch and read. Saturday was haircut, Firefly, and pizza day. Sunday was yard work day. I have to admit, I love working in my yard. Especially when my project involves removing grass. I really don’t like cutting grass.

yard 1 yard 2yard 3

With a lot of help from my sister, nephews, and brother, I moved a literal ton of rock, dug up grass, and laid the first level of stones for my new shade bed. I am clearly a giant nerd.

I am also totally excited about summer reading. We have completed our first week and sign ups and participation have been phenomenal! So far 72 teens have signed up. This may not seem like a big deal, but trust me, it’s huge. Last year at the end of 9 weeks we had 106 teens sign up. See? Big deal.

Moving on to the books….Check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great book lists!

mondayreading monday2

Finished:

in darkness far far away as dead as it gets nothing can possibly go wrong

I love when a book sticks with me long after I have finished. In Darkness by Nick Lake and Far Far Away by Tom McNeal are two such books. As Dead as it Gets by Katie Alender was the final and creepiest book in the Bad Girls Don’t Die series. Finally, I read Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong by Prudence Shen. This was a really fun graphic novel! It’s cheerleaders vs. nerd in the battle for school funding. Bonus points for a robot rumble! I definitely recommend all of these titles.

Current Audio:

art forger

The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro. It’s so good! I had to return Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker before I could finish it so I am currently without a Playaway. I should pick something today.

Currently Reading:

winger sixteen proxy

I am in love with Winger by Andrew Smith. I couldn’t resist another Stephanie Plum. Proxy by Alex London is my current e-galley. I am having a hard time getting into it, but to be fair, I really haven’t had much time to devote to it.

On Deck:

I have no idea. Here are a few titles that I have at home. Feel free to tell me what I should read next!

earl program end games originals

Or maybe something totally different? Who knows!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Mondays With Megan-It’s Monday Already? 6/17/13

  1. So I know we shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover (we really do…) but As Dead as it Gets LOOKS so creepy! I don’t know that I would be brave enough to pursue that one! 😉

  2. I’ve heard The Program is really good. 🙂

  3. I had not heard of Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong, but it sounds like a book my students would definitely love. I also added Far, Far Away to my TBR list. All 4 of the books you have listed here look great…I would have a hard time deciding too. 🙂

  4. I’m really curious about Winger. I absolutely love the cover! I’m glad you liked it.

  5. Your Saturday sounds just about perfect. Enjoy your books this week!

Leave a Reply

