Mondays With Megan: Countdown to Vacation!

Five more days until I am on vacation for three weeks! I have a ton to do to get ready, but I am mostly concerned about which books I am going to take and in which format. But that is a list for another day. Today is Monday and that means I get to make a What Are You Reading? list. Be sure to check out more lists at Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great reading suggestions.

I didn’t get too much reading in over the weekend. I was quite busy hanging out with my 91-year-old grandma and finishing my stone wall project in my backyard. Slowly but surely, it’s coming along. Next step: dirt and plant!

  yard 1

yard 2

But enough of that. You’ve come for the books!

mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA

Finished:

winger dorothy and the wizard in oz art forger sixteen

Winger by Andrew Smith is a must-read. Seriously. It is both laugh-out-loud hilarious and heartbreaking. It is the story of Ryan Dean West, a 14-year-old junior at a private boarding school. He plays rugby, falls in love, gets his ass kicked, and makes some pretty stupid mistakes. This glimpse into the mind of a teenaged boy is fascinating! I also made progress in The Marvel Oz series by Eric Shanower. This fourth installment, Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz did not have my favorite storyline, but the illustrations are really my favorite part anyway! I finished listening to The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro and promptly passed it on to my aunt. It was so compelling that I was often disappointed when I got to my destination and had to stop listening. Finally, I zipped through another Stephanie Plum novel. At this rate I should be all caught up when book 20 (!) comes out in the fall.

Current Audio:

aristotle and dante secrets to the grave

I have finally gotten around to Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, the multi-award winning novel by Benjamin Alire Sáenz. I am not very far into it, but so far I like the characters and narrator. On Playaway I have Secrets to the Grave by Tami Hoag. I have never read anything by this author and this is actually the second book in a series, but it doesn’t seem to matter that I missed the first one. I am enjoying this thriller set in the 1980’s.

Currently Reading:

end games proxy ashenwinter second helpings

I just started T. Michael Martin’s debut, The End Games. There is something weird going on here and I think I need to know what it is. Is this really a game? I am still working on my e-galley of Proxy by Alex London (it’s out now!) and I couldn’t resist Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin any longer. I also started Second Helpings by Megan McCafferty.

What are you reading?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Mondays With Megan: Countdown to Vacation!

  1. I am always looking for books for boys- so I am intrigued by Winger! Thanks!

  2. Lots of great looking books! I bet you are looking forward to those three weeks off! I am working summer school and I have about 4 weeks left of that and then get a month off. Enjoy your books this week!

    Check outThe Monster Report

  3. I’d already had The Art Forger in the periphery. But now that you say it was good as an audio I’ve moved it into the forefront. =)

  4. Beautiful yard work!
    Enjoy Aristotle & Dante- it is a beautiful book.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

    Kellee
    http://www.unleashingreaders.com

  5. I want to read Winger!
    Read Ashen Winter recently…I talked about it in a past IMWAYR post. It was good, but there were some parts where Mullin describes how they built/grew/etc. something and I kinda skimmed. Can’t wait to see how everything ends up in the final book!
    Also, I love Stephanie Plum 🙂 I wish the movie would be have been better, because that could have been AWESOME.

  6. Oh, dear! Aristotle and Dante… is still somewhere on TBR mountain. Come see my It’s Monday… if you get a chance. Happy reading!

  7. Aristotle and Dante is such a gorgeous book. I hope you enjoy it.

  8. I adored Aristotle and Dante! Winger sounds fun and is on my TBR list. have a great week!

Leave a Reply

