Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2013…So Far. 6/25/13

toptentuesday

This Top Ten Tuesday list, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish is a Best Of list. This is both a genius idea and a nearly impossible task all in one. My end of year lists are going to be insane. As of today I have read 92 books and I gave 5 stars to 26 of them! What to do, what to do?

So far this year has delivered some AWESOME sequels:

1. Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor. This sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone is dark, brutal, and devastating. Holy wow!

days of blood

2. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. Another brilliant sequel. Even better than Cinder? I think so! I can’t wait to get two more points of view layered on and see it is all going to come together.

scarlet

3. Spirit and Dust by Rosemary Clement-More. Not familiar with the Goodnight family? You’re going to want to fix that! Witches, ghosts, sassy girls and swoonie guys. Everybody wins! The first in the series is Texas Gothic, but they do a great job of standing alone as well. This book could be the love child of Shades of London series by Maureen Johnson and The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

spirit and dust

4. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. Epic. Clever and satisfying resolution to some of my biggest concerns.

clockwork princess

5. Game by Barry Lyga. Jasper Dent is the new Dexter! I really enjoyed I Hunt Killers, but Game creeped the hell out of me.

game

6.The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle by Christopher Healy. My new favorite middle grade series.

hero's guide

I have also read some phenomenal standalones and debuts!

7. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I had a ridiculously good time with this one. Wil Wheaton narrating the audio is bonus genius.

ready

8. Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley. How about this for variety? Nonfiction, graphic novel. So lovely. You will want it for yourself and to give it as a gift to all your foodie friends.

relish

9. What Happens Next by Colleen Clayton. I was totally impressed by this debut novel. I can’t wait to have the author speak at my library in September!

what happens next
10. In Darkness by Nick Lane. I totally get why it won the Prinz. I am also surprised by how much I loved this one. I still rattles around in my brain more than a month later.

in darkness

11. Winger by Andrew Smith. Laugh-out-loud hilarious and devastatingly heart-breaking all wrapped up in one. I just finished this last week and knew it had to be on this list.

winger

Eleven is a reasonable place to stop the list, but I just have to say that I also loved Light by Michael Grant, Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter, Prodigy by Marie Lu, Speaking From Among the Bones by Alan Bradley and Doll Bones by Holly Black. Now I am kind of dreading trying to make an end of the year Top Ten list.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2013…So Far. 6/25/13

  1. Loved Scarlet! and I just started reading the first in the Infernal Devices series. Hopefully I’ll like it enough to put it on my favorites list! Great list πŸ™‚

  2. I only have twelve 5-star rankings so far this year, a much easier number to pare down to ten. Not that I’m not enthusiastic about books, but I give most everything 3 to 4 stars. I have to want to staple a book to my skin and wear it always to give it a 5.
    I have plans for Daughter of Smoke & Bone and the second (and third) Infernal Devices books when I have time. Nice list!

  3. RELISH made my list, too! And I totally need to read SCARLET – I luuuuurvvved CINDER and I can’t believe I haven’t picked up the 2nd in the series yet.

  4. Game was on my list, too. I hadn’t thought of likening it to Dexter. I’ve been billing it for fans of shows like Criminal Minds. Oh, so fantastic. And as someone born in the early 80s, I also loved Ready Player One. It was my #1 book from last year.

  5. I really want to read Cinder & Scarlet now as I keep seeing them on Top Ten Tuesday lists. Same with Cassandra Clare’s series! πŸ™‚

  6. Loved Game! I need to get on reading Days of Blood and Starlight. I have also been contemplating reading the Marissa Meyer series and The Infernal Devices. And I’m definitely going to check out Texas Gothic.

  7. I just read What Happens Next a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed it!! Most of the others I haven’t read but they are on my tbr list when I read the first book(haha… whenever that will be). Well, except for Clockwork Princess… that is up soon πŸ˜€

    Lauren @ Lose Time Reading

  8. I have seen Relish: My Life in the Kitchen around on a lot of lists. I really need to check it out.

  9. Mhm, nice selection! I loved Cinder and Scarlet sooo much! It’s unbelievable! And I’ve yet to read Clockwork Princess. I know, I should probably haul myself into a blanket and not come out until I finished that trilogy πŸ™‚ Your other picks sound great, too!

  10. Days of Blook and Starlight was goooood! I have DoS&B on my list. LOVED the audio of these!
    I agree that Scarlet was even better than Cinder. On Twitter, I saw MarissaM saying she’s working on Winter…I want them all now!!

  11. I have had Daughter of Smoke and Bone on my TBR for far too long. Loved the nostalgia of Ready Player One too πŸ™‚

  12. First, I love, love, love that you included Spirit and Dust. I really liked that book, but Texas Gothic is my favorite by Clement-Moore.

    Oh and Scarlet! I am loving that series so much. And Hero’s Guide 2 was totally amazing. Such fantastic choices πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

