Mondays With Megan-Summer Throwdown!

Happy Monday. Oh, so happy first official day of vacation Monday…Since I haven’t left town yet, I thought I would take a break from pre-vaca errands and tell you about the Summer Throwdown and  the one and only book that I finished last week.

I was so excited to learn that there was going to be another Summer Throwdown. Last year it was Teachers vs. Librarians. They changed things up this year and now its more of a You vs. You kind of deal. Last year I read 14 books during the throwdown. This year I am going to try for 20 books between July 1 and July 31. I know it’s not us vs them this year, but I am still totally on the librarian team.

league2

Ok, since it’s Monday, and my friend MB was worried about missing my Monday lists, let’s move on to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? For more great lists you can also check out Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts

Finished:

aristotle and dante

I think I have needed a break from all the paranormal, because I have just been loving the contemporary picks lately. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz, is a beautiful coming of age story. Worthy of all the awards and accolades. The reader for the audio was also super. I am glad I finally read this special book.

Current Audio:

how to save a life secrets to the grave

Continuing with my contemporary fiction theme, I am finally getting around to a Sara Zarr book. Things are really starting to get good in Secrets to the Grave!

Currently Reading:

proxy second helpings ashenwinter

On Deck:

My Nook is full, I have hours and hours of books on CD, and more books than I can possibly read in two and a half weeks on the farm, but darn it, I like choices! Stay tuned!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Summer Throwdown!

  1. Go, librarians! There is no way I’m going to read more thanlast summer, but it’s always good to have a back up excuse for why I read to read! I’m sure you can read 20 books!

  2. Good week of reading for you – I have yet to get to a Sara Zarr book myself and hear great things about her work often! I also have the first book in Mike Mullin’s trilogy that has been in my TBR pile for a while now…

    Have fun on the farm! 🙂

  3. I’m really looking forward to getting to Aristotle and Dante . . . glad to know if will be worth the wait! Enjoy vacation and have fun with Throw Down!

  4. I love Tami Hoag’s books but haven’t paid attention in the last few years to the world of adult books. I think I haven’t read that one so I will have to go find it!

  5. I’ve heard that How to Save A Life is fantastic. I hope you enjoy it!

  6. So many great books here–I don’t know which to comment on. I am excited to hear what you think about ASHEN WINTER. I loved ASHFALL and my students were mixed about the sequel, so I am curious what you think!

  7. Pingback: Mondays with Megan and What Are You Reading? 7/29/13 | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

