Top Ten Tuesday: Intimidating Books 7/2/13

toptentuesdayEven the most voracious readers have books that intimidate them. It could be the size of the book, the content, or even all the hype surrounding particular titles. I know I have shied away from books for all of those reasons. This week The Broke and the Bookish want to know which books we find most intimidating.

1.Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. I found this one intimidating for all the reasons given about. I mean, it’s huge! And the new paperback version? The paper is so thin it’s practically see-through. And there is almost 100 pages worth of index? Come on! As for the content, I had zero experience with high fantasy. I did not think dragons were my thing. Wrong. Finally, the hype. There was so much peer pressure to read it I was terrified that I would hate it. Oh, peer pressure. Mostly my fears were unfounded. It was a total b*tch to get into, but once I got going there was no turning back!

game

2. Second Chance Summer– by Morgan Matson. I really loved Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour and would like to read Matson’s second novel but, oh, the cancer books…

second chance summer

3. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. This series has some seriously die-hard fans. I am worried I won’t love it and people will think I kick puppies or something. I don’t, by the way.

mara dyer

4. Graceling by Kristen Cashore. See above. For real, I just need to get it over with. The problem is I took the audiobook home ages ago and that was how I discovered that I did not like full cast audio at all. Now I am worried that it was actually the book I did not like. Could it be?

graceling

5. Shatter Me by Taherah Mafi. Why can’t I start this one? I downloaded it onto my Nook once, but it expired before I could even really get into the story. Again, the hype has me hesitant. Stupid hype. Also, I am not a big fan of the cover.

shatter me

6. The Map of Time by Felix Palma. I want to love it so bad. I love the cover. I love the concept. It was blurbed by a favorite author. It is the whole package. What if I don’t love it? This time I have created the hype. Stupid hype.

map of time

7. Pure by Julianna Baggott. It sounded too creepy for me, but then came recommended. Now I feel pressured to read it. I mean, a doll head fused to a hand? I don’t think I can get behind that!

pure

8. Passenger by Andrew Smith. The Marbury Lens is one of the most disturbing books I have read. I need to know what happens next, but I am not eager to jump back into that world again.

passenger

9. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta. It took me forever to read Jellicoe Road (which was lovely, btw), so it is no surprise that I am hesitant to start this series. A while back there was Goodreads.com thread about how unbelievably awesome this series is. Again with the pressure.

finikin

10. Elemental by Antony John. It is no secret that I ADORED Five Flavors of Dumb, but this latest book by John did not suck me in from the start. So I kind of panicked and stopped reading it. Maybe I wasn’t in the right mood? Now I am worried so I am avoid it.

elemental

Which books are you avoiding?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Intimidating Books 7/2/13

  1. You should totally read Graceling!! It took a while to get into because there was quite a lot of exposition, but once you get to the meat of the story, it is amazing!

    I’m avoiding the Cinder/Scarlet series, mostly because if there’s any Content I’ll have to pull them from the shelves & my eighth-grade girls love them so!

  2. The Mara Dyer series is good. I read it to see what everyone was talking about and I liked it. Very few people hate it. 🙂 I am also weary of GoT. I have the book but I haven’t started it. I’m afraid too. Second Chance Summer is not as bad as TFiOS. I loved it!

  3. Great list. You have some really good one on here.

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  4. I’m pretty intimidated by Finnikin of the Rock, too. Actually, I have a Marchetta book on my TTT today. 🙂

  5. If you read any books on this list, they need to be Mara Dyer, Shatter Me and Graceling. They definitely deserve the hype.

  6. I’m scared of GoT. I hear George R.R. Martin likes to pull out the reader’s heart, set them on fire, and do a little dance in the ashes. But somehow writes so well that you let him break your heart again!
    I doubt I’ll ever read them, unless someone twists my arm…

  7. Graceling is awesome and I would never lie to you so you should read it soon.

  8. I had the exact same experience with Game of Thrones/ASOIAF!!!! I was intimidated for all the same reasons and now I’m in the middle of the third book and there’s no turning back!! I really, REALLY loved Graceling so much and I’m sad you didn’t like it! I’ll blame the audio haha! 😉

Leave a Reply

