Mondays with Megan-The Montana Edition

Well, I just wrapped up a morning of farm chores (no, seriously) and thought I’d put out a quick post. I would love to tell you that this has been the most awesome and relaxing vacation ever, but I cannot. I do have some good stories though. The drama started early. Illinois is ridiculous to drive through. For real. I continue to harbor extreme dislike for the insanely confusing toll roads that lead in and out of the Chicago area. Our progress slowed by Illinois, we decided to push on through to Minnesota and call it a day. With a solid six hours of sleep under our belts, we snuck out of town in the middle of the night to start the second half of the 24 hour drive. Coffee in hand, we were merrily on our way. Fifteen minutes in, we hit a deer. With our brother’s new truck. He was kind enough to let us use it to haul some stuff from Cleveland to Montana. We. Hit. A. Deer. UGH. But let’s not dwell about that. Wall South Dakota was fun. I took some fun pictures, but I can’t show them to you because the camera that took these photos decided to stop working. Why? No, really, why?? So, broken car, broken camera. Not off to a good start. My neurotic dog took to farm life like a pig in mud and has turned into a wild, unrecognizable creature in a matter of days. Yesterday he got a cold hose bath after finding a nice pile of poo to roll his face in. Seriously Kevin? Then there was a raging two-alarm barn fire on the farm next door. Lightning struck and the thing burned to the ground. So that is life in Montana in a nutshell. On the bright side, I have had the most delicious salads from the garden and there is nothing like a farm fresh egg. I was smothered with horse kisses last night (granted, they were sucking up to me because I was walking through the barnyard with a basket of fresh-picked spinach, but horse kisses are horse kisses, so there). My clothes are line-dried and I have not heard anything but the breeze rustling leaves, and grass, the water in the creek,  and the chickens all day long. No cars. No planes. No TV. Blissful silence. I actually finally had an opportunity to just sit and read for the first time in almost a week. Which means I actually have something to report for this week’s edition of It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? For more great lists be sure to check out Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished:

how to save a life proxy secrets to the grave

How to Save a Life was by first Sara Zarr. She sure can write all the feelings and I enjoyed the fact that there weren’t any cookie cutter characters. I will definitely check out more of her books. I finally finished Proxy by Alex London. I ended up really liking it and will have a full review at some point. Secrets to the Grave was my first Tami Hoag and enjoyed that as well.

Currently Reading:

ashenwinter second helpings

I am really digging Ashen Winter, the sequel to Ashfall by Mike Mullin. One of the things I like the most is that the heroes are so realistic. They do dumb things, wounds don’t heal overnight, and they have real, human limitations. That also freaks me out. Second Helpings by Megan McCafferty is the second book in the Jessica Darling series and it is perfect vacation fare.

On Deck: It’s vacation time, I am not committing to anything!

Happy Trails…I mean, Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Mondays with Megan-The Montana Edition

  1. Yikes Megan! Please have a more uneventful rest of your journey! Lucky Kevin – sounds like a perfect place for him!

  2. Sorry the start to your vacation was not so good (and scary! the deer!). But farm life and no sounds of traffic – that sounds pretty amazing!

  3. Oh my! Sounds like a stressful start to your vacation, but the farm life sounds really nice. I really like Tami Hoag’s mysteries too. I haven’t read anything by Sara Zarr, but it sounds like I should remedy that 🙂 Proxy sounds interesting as well.

  4. I haven’t read any Sara Zarr either (bad me!), but I have a couple of titles in my classroom library, and my students love Story of a Girl and Sweethearts.
    Enjoy the farm! Happy reading!
    (Also, I just read you T10T post, and you Graceling is fabulous. It changed my mind about not liking fantasy.)

  5. Great to hear about ASHEN WINTER. I was hesitant to start it because I loved the first so much. I am glad to hear it is a good one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

