Mondays with Megan and What Are You Reading? 7/29/13

Happy Monday! I really wish I had something exciting to report, but most of my free time these days is being spent with my 91-year-old grandmother. Her health is declining and I am soaking up all the gma awesomeness that I can. Friday she taught me how to make her version of Chex Mix. This Friday I finally get the secret cheesecake recipe. Score! Now that I am back from vacation I am also getting a lot more reading done. That seems so backwards, but it’s true. Since I am sleepy and can’t really think of anything clever to say, I am going to just skip right to list of books. Thanks to Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for hosting It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading IMWAYR

Finished

last word since you asked who is ac whit & will bone house

The Last Word by Lisa Lutz is the sixth and final (?) document in the Spellman Files. I love this series and recommend it all the time to people looking for a light, fun read with quirky characters. Since You Asked by Maurene Goo is a debut novel starring a snarky and sarcastic Korean-American teen. This is a NetGalley book and I will have a review up soon. I hope. In an attempt to pad my stats for the Summer Throwdown (I am way behind on my goal), I read a couple of graphic novels. The first was Who is AC? by Hope Larson. It was just ok. The story was a little weird and confusing. I also read Will & Whit by Laura Lee Gulledge, which I loved. Finally, I finished listening to The Bone House by Brian Freeman, which was a suspenseful mystery/thriller that kept me thoroughly entertained while I pulled weeds this weekend.

Currently Listening:

finnikin secret keeper

In my car I have Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta. To be honest, I am not loving it. Yet. I mean, it’s good. I am interested in the characters and the story, but I think that if I was reading the book I might be inclined to set it down. I had a similar experience with Jellicoe Road, which I ended up loving, so I am hopeful. I also just snagged The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton on Playaway. My coworker raved about this one and she never steers me wrong. I am excited to take this one walking with the dog.

Currently Reading:

monsters of men rose under fire cinder summer up in flames

I am kind of all over the place and not fully committed to any of these. Cinder is a reread for book club. The problem is that I have a huge stack of books that I am dying to read, but I am not ready to abandon any of these. I really need to sit down with Monsters of Men because I am about a third of the way in and things are intense. I am sure it will be a brilliant ending to an amazing series.

On Deck:

coldest just like fate

I have two ARCs that I can’t wait to read!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

12 responses to “Mondays with Megan and What Are You Reading? 7/29/13

  1. I really want to read the new Holly Black book! Can’t wait until it comes out!

  2. I’m looking forward to The Coldest Girl in Coldtown as well! It looks really good. Hope you enjoy all your books this week!

    Here’s what we’re reading

  3. Sounds like a bunch of cool books! I could never get into Finnikin on the Rocks I tried it once and gave up. I have only heard of one other book you mentioned (Cinder) but never read it. I hope you like your books and get a chance to read them!

    Here is mine: http://writesthoughts.blogspot.com/2013/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-1.html

  4. Ooo, Rose Under Fire! I have that one from Netgalley. I just read Code Name Verity, and wow, what an amazing book. But I need to read some lighter books for awhile before I read Rose Under Fire.

    Sometimes I have a bunch of books going too, where I don’t feel committed to any of them.

    Good luck, and thanks for sharing🙂

  5. I never read multiple books when I was actually YA, but it seems to be my typical way to read lately. There are too many good books. Netgalley has contributed to the issue since I need to read books at certain times for review even though I am in the middle of something else. Monsters of Men is something I will want to read again. I remember ripping through that series.

  6. I’ve been curious about Who is AC but keep hearing mixed reviews. Cinder is on my pile (and has been since last year… my pile is HUGE) and I keep meaning to read the rest of the Ness series. I need about 10 months of JUST reading..

  7. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Monsters of Men and that entire trilogy! You will not be disappointed. Cinder is also very good! I tried the Finnikin of the Rock audio and wasn’t all that into it either. I heard it’s a great book though.🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  8. YOU LIKE THE SPELLMANS?!?!?! I love that series!!! I am behind- I haven’t read the 5th or 6th yet. I am so happy to find someone who loves them as much as me🙂

    Enjoy Cinder and Monsters of Men- both great! Very different, but great!

    Happy reading this week🙂
    Kellee
    http://www.unleashingreaders.com

  9. I was so hesitant to pick up Cinder – but I really liked it! I thought Scarlet had a lot more action and enjoyed it too. Happy Reading!

  10. Looking forward to Holly Black. I just LOVED Doll Bones.

  11. I love graphic novels for padding the reading list! I just started Will & Whit (Page by Paige is one of my very favorite GNs so I was excited to see that Gulledge has another). I’ve never even heard of the Spellman books–will have to look for those. In fact, your whole post makes me want to go to the library right now! (One of the things I love most about #imwayr). Sorry your grandma isn’t doing well; at least you’re able to spend extra time with her now. And congrats on the secret cheesecake recipe!

Leave a Reply

