Mondays With Megan-Spy Girls Rule! 8/5/13

gallagher girls readathon

Today is the first day of the Gallagher Girls Read-a-thon, hosted by Books As You Know It. I am really excited to start at the beginning again. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You will be me night-time read all week. What a fun way to end the day and a perfect way to spend the remaining days until the long-awaited final book…42 days and counting.

mondayreading IMWAYR

Finished:

smile summer up in flames just like fate

Smile by Raina Telegemeier is an awesome middle grade graphic novel. It got plenty of hype a while back and it was well-deserved. How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski was the summer road trip book I was most looking forward to reading. Sadly, it was just kind of meh. Just Like Fate by Cat Patrick and Suzanne Young was a quick, fun read that reminded me of the choose your own adventure books that I loved as a kid. Add this to the long list of reviews I need to right…

Current Audio:

secret keeper everybody sees the ants

The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton will be appearing on many Monday lists…it is 20 hours long! I am only a few chapters in, but I know this is going to be an awesome story. I also started Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King. I have read and love Please Ignore Vera Dietz and Ask The Passengers. I am half way through and it is just as wonderful.

Currently Reading:

emerald green cinder monsters of men

Yeah, that’s right! I know all the right people and am so lucky to have an ARC of Emerald Green, the third book in the Ruby Red Trilogy by Kerstin Gier! Of course this means that I may not get around to quickly rereading Cinder. Oh well. I am still working my way through Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness. It is really long and heavy. Also, there is a new POV that is kind of throwing me off. It is so good, but I am just not flying through it like the others.

Abandoned:

finikin

Last week I abandoned Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta. I was listening to the audio book and one of the discs just was not cooperating. I realized that I was not invested enough in the story to try to make it work or get the print copy. I may got back to it someday, but not right now.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Spy Girls Rule! 8/5/13

  1. I will have to check out Smile and didn’t know that there was a Gallagher Girls Read-a-thon. Hope and I will have to check it out! I got tired of Cinder after awhile, but finished it. I thought Everybody Sees Ants was amazing and gave it to our guidance counselors to read. Enjoy your week!

  2. I need to re-start with Cinder. It got lost in the shuffle of some 2013 MG books catching my eye. Smile really is great one, and I agree worthy of the adoration poured upon by tweens everywhere! I have yet to get to her Drama.

  3. I love the AS King books so happy to hear about Everybody Sees The Ants. Glad to hear about the others too, & the one abandoned. Too little time to read what you aren’t enjoying. I thought Smile was great & still need to read Drama. Thanks for all you shared!

  4. I have Just Like Fate sitting on my shelf at home, I will have to check it out. I kind of agree with you about How My Summer Went Up in Flames.

  5. Everybody Sees the Ants is fantastic. A.S. King seems to be able to do no wrong! Cinder is in my TBR pile for our upcoming summer trip.

  6. I tried to read Finnikin of the Rock and just couldn’t get into it. I always hate it when there’s a book by an author I love that also gets great reviews from so many readers I trust and I just don’t feel invested. I always think there’s something very wrong with ME! Maybe I’ll try again someday. I’ve been reading good things about The Secret Keeper. I love to have a long audio going when it’s something really good!

  7. I read the first Gallagher Girls book, but never did get to the rest. I loved it and remember laughing a lot. I should pick up the rest and give them a shot. There are just so many series books and I don’t keep up with them all.

Leave a Reply

