Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wish Had Sequels 8/6/13

toptentuesday

This week The Broke and the Bookish want to know which standalone books should have had a sequel. Were there unresolved issues? Was the world so amazing you wanted to stay there longer? This is a tough one! Sometimes it is just perfect to be a standalone. Not everything needs to be a series. Besides, to make a sequel there has to be a new conflict and if a book has a satisfying ending I would hate to see my favorite characters struggle again. That being said, I am heading off to my Goodreads shelves to see if anything jumps out at me.

1. Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley. I loved this charming memoir and I am sure the author has many more delicious stories to share. I hope she does!

relish

2. Also Known As by Robin Benway. With my beloved Gallagher Girls series wrapping up this year there will be a spy-girl shaped void in my life. I hope this is just the beginning of a new series!

also known as

3. 11/22/63 by Stephen King. I was surprised to find that when I reached the end of this enormous book I was not ready for it to be over. The past got all the attention in this one, but I think that there is a whole new world left undeveloped.

112263

4. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. But…what happens to them???

amy&roger

5. Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken. I refuse to believe that there is not more for North and Sydelle. I was so sorely disappointed with Darkest Minds. Maybe someday she will revisit their story? Please?

brightly

6. The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly. Young Calpurnia was such a plucky character. I would love to know more about her as I have no doubt that she will have many adventures.

evolution of calpurnia tate

7. Into the Wild Nerd Yonder by Julie Halpern. The inner nerd has been released. I want more of the embracing it!

wild nerd

8. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart.

frankie

To be perfectly honest, I read this so long ago that I don’t remember how it ended, but I do remember it being funny. I think Frankie was a bit of a firecracker and I would follow her pranking career if there were more.

9. How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller.

life of crimeThis book was so compelling and disturbing. I was fortunate to read an ARC, so I only recently learned about how the final version was compromised. Seriously. I really hope there will be a sequel!

Runners up:

daily coyote forgotten

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wish Had Sequels 8/6/13

  1. I haven’t read many of the books on your list, but I’ll definitely have to check out Also Known As- I’m a huge fan of the Gallagher Girls series too and I have a feeling I’m going to need a new spy book to fill the void when that series ends.

  2. I haven’t read many of the books on your list, but I’ll definitely have to check out Also Known As- I have a feeling I’ll need another spy book to fill the void once the Gallagher Girls series ends.

  3. I have How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller and read many good reviews about it. I thought it was part of the series. 😉 Nice list!

    Thanks for dropping my blog. ❤

Leave a Reply

