What Did YOU Read This Summer?

Summer reading ended this week at the library and the reality of back to school time is slowly sinking in. I had a really great turn out for the Teen Summer Reading Program and I thought I would share some of the books that were read. This year I asked readers to tell me what they read, whether they loved, liked it, or didn’t like and then describe the book in three words. I have really enjoyed reading all the responses. This year Rick Riordan and J.K. Rowling win the popularity contest. This does not surprise me at all. Everyone should spend time with Percy Jackson and Harry Potter and summer is the perfect time to revisit old favorites. I was also pleased to see that many readers enjoyed their assigned summer reading. Books such as The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton, Bystander by James Preller, Chasing Lincoln’s Killer by James Swanson all got high praise. Here are some more favorites:

Divergent and Insurgent by Veronica Roth

divergent insurgent

What teens are saying: Divergent is Exciting, Powerful, AWESOME, Surprising, Thrilling, and Adventurous. Insurgent is Intense, Mind-boggling, Amazing, Surprising, and Cute.

Freak the Mighty by W.R. Philbrick

freak the mighty

What they are saying: Freak the Mighty is Inspiring, Triumphant, and Funny!

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

thirteen reasons why

What they are saying: Thirteen Reasons Why is Sad, Mysterious, and Suspenseful.

What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

what's left of me

One reader calls this one “Clever, Different, and Hopeful.”

Cardboard by Doug TenNapel.

cardboard

I have to agree with this three-word description: “Really, really good!”

Deep and Dark and Dangerous by Mary Downing Hahn

deep and dark and dangerous

Mark this one down for a Halloween read because it is ” Mysterious, Scary, and Adventurous!”

When We Wake by Karen Healey

when we wake

According to one reader, this one is “Futuristic, Eerie, and Action-Packed”

Other teen favorites included The Rangers Apprentices series by John Flanagan (YAY!), The Grimm Legacy by Polly Shulman, The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter, and both Cassandra Clare series.

MY favorites? That’s tough!

spirit and dust winger aristotle and dante eleanor last wordashenwinter emerald green in darkness

I didn’t get to read as much as I wanted this summer, but the things I did read were amazing!

For those of you who love library stats as much as I do, I had a total of 117 teens participate in summer reading. They read a total of 316 books.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

3 responses to “What Did YOU Read This Summer?

  1. I’ve got a copy of “Divergent” that I’ve been meaning to read for awhile now. So glad to see “Aristotle and Dante Discover the Universe” and “In Darkness” as some of your favorites. They’re both part of our book group this year! I’m looking forward to reading and discussing them!

  2. Eleanor and Park & Aristotle and Dante are two of my favorite YA books, ever. Glad to see you enjoyed them too!

  3. Texas Gothic is a favorite book o fmine! And Eleanor & Park!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So good. And I love Deep and Dark and Dangerous! Actually I love Mary Downing Hahn!

Leave a Reply

