Mondays With Megan-Spy School Week 2 8/12/13

gallagher girls readathon

It’s week 2 of The Gallagher Girls Read-a-thon, hosted by Books As You Know It.

i'd tell you i love

Last week I revisited I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You. This is where the magic beginnings! In retrospect I realize that this is not the best book in the series. It’s a quick, fun beginning, but it is so different from the books that follow. My favorite things about this one are getting to know the school itself and meeting the characters. The Gallagher Academy is full of surprises and the secrets we learn in book one are just the tip of the iceberg. I love the quirky professors, the fine dining in the cafeteria, and the long list of useful items allegedly invented by some clever spy girls. I also realized that despite not being a fan of Josh, he is a very important tool and his role was necessary to move Cammie and the series forward. If you haven’t started the Gallagher Girls series, I suggest you get busy. If you read the first book and never continued, I assure you that each book is better than the last! I am looking forward to digging into Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy this week.

Moving on to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? Thanks to Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for hosting!

mondayreading IMWAYR

Finished:

i'd tell you i love everybody sees the ants crayons monsters of men emerald green bayou 1 bayou 2

Man, I killed it last week! If I keep this up I may get back on track with my reading goal! I have yet to be disappointed by A.S. King. In Everybody Sees the Ants she tackles bullying. I love how she weaves magical realism into her stories. I also love how she writes adults-just like real life. None are perfect. Some totally suck, others try their best. I can’t wait for Reality Boy! After seeing The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt on a bunch of blogs I just had to see for myself what the fuss was all about. Oh boy, was this an adorable and hilarious little picture book. Do yourself a favor and pick this one up (even if you don’t have a young one to share it with!). I finally finished Monsters of Men, the final book in the Chaos Walking series by Patrick Ness. This stuff is brilliant! It was powerful and disturbing and left me with a lot to think about. Finally, I zipped through an ARC of Emerald Green, the final book in that adorable Ruby Red Trilogy by Kerstin Gier. There were plenty of surprises and clever twists, but I wish it wasn’t over! Finally, I read Bayou vol 1 & 2 by Jeremy Love. The artwork is gorgeous and the story is a dark and bizarre blend of Southern folklore, and African-American history and folklore. I didn’t know what to expect, but I thought is was pretty cool. I wish volume 3 was published.

Current Audio:

secret keeper joyland

Oh, The Secret Keeper…I am loving this one. The suspense is killing me! I also started Joyland by Stephen King. A creepy carnival seems to be an appropriate end-of-summer book.

Currently Reading:

cross my heart explosive eighteen shadows

I had my fill of dark and disturbing for a while. I all about light and fun this week so I will be continuing with the Gallagher Girls read-a-thon. Stephanie Plum is also a nice, predictable comic relief. I am finally going to start Shadows, the second book in the Ashes trilogy. Monsters comes out in September and I want to be ready!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

3 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Spy School Week 2 8/12/13

  1. I am reading the Gallagher Girls series too, but I had already started before I found out about the marathon. I already read the first two and am getting started with the third book since my digital hold came through this week. I agree about the Chaos Walking series. So disturbing but really thought-provoking and brilliant. I have Everybody Sees the Ants and Ruby Red on my shelves so I may just have to bump them up to the top of the list after reading your post. Bayou looks intriguing too. Have a great reading week!

  2. You sure did kill it this week! What a great assortment of titles! I am with you in regards to A.S. King. She is something special, isn’t she?

    Thanks for sharing! I hope you get back to your goal. I am also trying to get back to mine, so I am right there with you!

  3. Wow, you are whipping through a pile of books. I enjoyed the first Gallagher Girls, but never did move on. Glad to hear they keep getting better. Someday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

