Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Settings 8/13/13

toptentuesdayThis week The Broke and The Bookish asked us to pick a setting and list our favorite books with that setting. I am tweaking this one a little. I selected a few of my favorite types of settings and listed a few books in those categories.

FOREIGN LANDS. I don’t have a lot of world travel experience, but I can always count on a book to take me away!

1. Ireland

faithful

I love Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad series. Each book in the series is a riveting psychological thriller, but my favorite thing about the series is the setting. I have never been to Ireland, but French describes Dublin in such vivid detail that the city comes alive. It’s as if Dublin itself is a character in the story.

2. Czech Republic

daughter

The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor is the only book I have ever read that is set in Prague. The unique setting makes this one stand out in a crowd.

3. Australia

jellicoe road i am the messenger

It’s a toss-up between Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta and I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak. I must admit that one Ed Kennedy plays a big role in latter being on the list.

SPECIAL SCHOOLS. Thank you J.K. Rowling for introducing me to the joys of Hogwarts! I now have a special fondness for boarding school settings. Here are a few of my favorites:

4. The Arkwell Academy is home to a variety of magickind, including Dusty Everhart, the only Nightmare at the school. This was a fun debut by a local (Ohio) author!

nightmare affair

5. Hanover School for Expecting Teen Mothers is a spaceship! Seriously. I LOVED this book and can’t wait for more!

mothership

6. Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is a top-secret spy school for awesome girls.

i'd tell you i love

ON THE ROAD. I LOVE road trip books so much. These two are truly gems:

7. Going Bovine by Libba Bray is so delightfully bizarre.

going bovine

8. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson is the opposite. Nothing weird here, just a lot of sweet fun.

amy and roger

DISTURBING SETTINGS. I just invented this category so that I could include some of my favorite disturbing books. It feels weird saying that.

9. The Marbury Lens by Andrew Smith. Marbury is a horrifying place, and yet I could not put this book down. Of course, I am still too scared to read the sequel, Passenger, but I will some day.

marbury lens

10. Gone by Michael Grant. Perdido Beach is a hot mess and even though the series is finished, I am still freaked out about all the sh*t that when down under that barrier.

gone

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Settings 8/13/13

  1. Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Great book! I like your topic but I haven’t read most of these books!

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  2. Great list! Lots of my favourites here – I’m a huge fan of Ally Carter, Michael Grant and Morgan Matson. in particular. Check mine out here if you’d like to.

  3. Interesting take on today’s TTT. 🙂

  4. I really like your topic! I’ve only read Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Gallagher Girls, but there are quite a few on your list that I want to read!

Leave a Reply

