Mondays With Megan-Beaches, Spies, and Bout of Books 8.0

I am ending the summer on a high note. I finally made it out to my aunt’s house for a beach day. She has lived in a little cottage on the shores of Lake Erie for my entire life. Her backyard is a small patch of pebbly beach and it’s a little piece of heaven. It’s just not summer without a day of swimming and hunting for sea glass. Somethings you just don’t outgrow.

sea glass

Ok. On to Monday business. I am participating in two read-a-thons this week!

gallagher girls readathon

We are entering week three of the Gallagher Girls read-a-thon, hosted by Books As You Know It. This week we are reading Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover by Ally Carter.

don't judge

Today is also the beginning of Bout of Books 8.0, hosted by Bout of Books.

BoB8.0-200x200In case you are interested, you can see my goals for the week here.

Finally, it’s time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for another It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? list.

mondayreading IMWAYR

Finished:

drama cross my heart joyland secret keeper infinityglass

My favorites from this bunch are Joyland by Stephen King and The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton. Talk about fantastic storytelling! Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter was reread for me. It was fun to go back to the beginning and relive the introduction of Zack. Things are really going to take off now! Drama by Raini Telgemeier was kind of a letdown after Smile. The artwork wonderful, but I found the story to be lacking. I found the characters to be clichéd and stereotypical. Finally, I tore through Infinityglass, the final book in the Hourglass trilogy by Myra McEntire. It was a nice, solid ending, but I think the first book is still my favorite.

Current Audio:

prisoner of heaven wedding night

Currently Reading:

this song will save your life shadows explosive eighteen don't judge coldest

Yeah, I’m busy!

On Deck:

lemoncello rose under fire

Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein and Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein are definitely on the top of my TBR list.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

4 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Beaches, Spies, and Bout of Books 8.0

  1. I haven’t read any Stephen King in ages…. I should try that one! I’m also intrigued by the Holly Black title..

  2. I want to read The Gallagher Girls series and The Coldest Girl in Coldtown.
    Here is My It’s Monday!

  3. I am enjoying rereading the Gallagher Girls series too! That Stephen King book looks really good and really creepy. Have a great reading week!

  4. Good luck with the bout of books. I’m doing it too for the first time. I am looking forward to Infinityglass. I just got it from the library and can’t wait to dig in. I am actually amazed at how many books you finished and how many you are currently reading. It’s really impressive. Thanks for visiting my Monday post.

    LisaILJ @ I’ll Tumble for YA

Leave a Reply

