Mondays With Megan-One Giant List of Books 9/9/13

I totally forgot to put up a post last Monday. It was Labor Day and I was enjoying my day off, so this week I have a giant list of books to mention. I’ll just get to it, while the caffeine is still fresh in my veins!

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 

mondayreading IMWAYR

Check out Books Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more lists!

Finished 8/27-9/8:

rump only the good spy young dying to meet you out of sight out of time shadows forgive me leonard let's explore 6=5th

  • Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff. Adorable middle-grade fairy tale retelling!
  • Only the Good Spy Young by Ally Carter. Book 4 in the Gallagher Girls series. More spies, more danger, more answers and even more questions! Action-packed.
  • Dying to Meet You by Kate Klise. Book 1 in the 43 Old Cemetery Road series. Very clever middle grade ghost story. It’s not spooky!
  • Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter. Book 5 in the Gallagher Girls series. Oh, the betrayals! Cammie has almost all the answers. Now what?!?
  • Shadows by Ilsa Bick. Oh, the HORROR! Must. Read. Monsters. Totally terrified to read Monsters!
  • Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick. A day in the life of a suicidal teen. Read this straight through.
  • Let’s Explore Diabetes With Owls by David Sedaris. Laughed out loud like a lunatic while walking the dog and listening to this one!
  • The Fifth Wave by Richard Yancey. Slow to start book about alien invasion. The second half had me reading long past my bedtime!

Current Audio:

at home beautiful ruins

I am kind of on a nonfiction kick, which is very rare, so when it happens I must indulge. To that end, I have started listening to At Home by Bill Bryson whenever I walk the dog. In the car I have Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter. This one came recommended by my coworker. So far so good.

Currently Taking My Time With These: Nothing seems to be holding my interest, so I am going back and forth with a ridiculous number of books.

charmed coldest possibility dogs rose under fire another little piece

I am totally lacking focus right now! I need something to grab me. Until then, I’ll plug away at this stack.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan-One Giant List of Books 9/9/13

  1. How long do you stick with books that don’t grab you?

    • It depends on the book and the reasons it doesn’t grab me. If there are huge plot flaws or annoying characters I have no problem dumping a book right away. If it’s slow to start I usually try to give it at least 50 pages. Sometimes I just set it aside and try again later.

  2. Glad you endorse the good reviews I’ve heard about the latest David Sedaris. I’m excited to finally get to Rump, I think it will be a great book to share with the fourth graders I work with.

  3. I’ve been reading a lot of nonfiction recently, too. Especially in conjunction with my Back to School Reading Challenge. It just seems like a good time of year for it.

  4. I started reading Monsters over the weekend and was totally lost … and then realized I never read Shadows. Oops!
    Gallagher Girls are the most perfect popcorn fic books. Totally fun!
    Another blog on the link talked about Leonard Peacock. Will have to check it out.

  5. These are alot of books! So is The Coldest Girl in ColdTown not good? I downloaded the free sample for my Nook, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. Hopefully you will find something that grabs you.

    Here is what I’m reading this week:
    http://mynookbooksnmore.blogspot.com/2013/09/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-4.html?showComment=1378773950769#c386832974827442917

    Kathy

  6. WOW! You’ve got tons of books on here! I’m reading Rump aloud to my fifth graders, and they love it!

Leave a Reply

