Top Ten Tuesday-Books on the Big (or Small) Screen 9/10/13

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is all about TV and film adaptations of books. When compiling this list of titles that we would love to seen on the big screen we can assume that the adaptation will be done in a perfect world and will therefore not suck.

As Seen On TV (Please?):

1. Gone by Michael Grant. Shove on over Under the Dome (and network television), this is how you do horror.

gone

2. The Drake Chronicles by Alyxandra Harvey. Vampire never go out of style, right? I think this would be a fun series to see on TV.

hearts at stake

3. Ashes by Isla Bick. This woman is giving Michael Grant a run for his money in the freakishly disturbing horror category. This is a new twist on zombies and I can’t wait to see where things go in the final book.

ashes new cover

4. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I’d watch those broody boys search for a ley line any day. I am sure the series would provide enough material for a few seasons.

raven boys

5. The Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan. I don’t want a movie. I want season after season of Halt, Will, Horace, and Tug.

ruins

Runners up:

life as we knew it tell you i love you iron king

Dreaming of the Big Screen:

1. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld. Can you imagine the special effects for this one?

leviathan

2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. There has to be a role for Wil Wheaton in this one.

ready

3. The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy. I can totally picture this as an animated film. How about it, Pixar?

hero's guide

4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Fairy tales are all the rage!

cinder

5. The Diviners by Libba Bray. Actually, maybe not. I might be too afraid to watch!

diviners

Runners up:

mothership fiveflavorsof dumb please ignore vera dietz ship breaker white cat

Dear Hollywood,

There is some AWESOME material here. Don’t ruin it. Please.

Thanks,

Megan

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Books on the Big (or Small) Screen 9/10/13

  1. I seriously want to read The Diviners and Cinder, they look so good! I just ordered TD from the Library so I hope it comes soon. White Cat would be an interesting movie, hmm, didn’t think of that!
    Tilly @ Hardcore Heroines

  2. I’ve only read a couple of these, but I agree that Cinder would make an awesome movie. Intrigue and mind control and cyborgs… perfect.

  3. It would be really cool to see Cinder as a movie. Maybe in the future!

  4. Life As We Knew it was one of the books I had forgotten about on my post! I am glad someone else remembered, it would make such a great film. Great list!

  5. Ready Player One and The Diviners definitely! Great list this week!

  6. I would love to see Cinder as a movie! I really need to read The Ranger’s Apprentice series, it sounds good!

  7. Loved your choices of the Raven Boys and Cinder. And Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  8. The Raven Boys would be an AWESOME movie!

    The Diviners would be awesome too. And would definitely terrify me.

  9. I loved The Diviners and it is on my list too. It has actually been optioned for film and so has the Gallagher Girls book (again) and The Hero’s Guide. If the people who make Brave try their hand at The Hero’s Guide, it would be amazing I think.

  10. Ooh… The Raven Boys as a tv show… I think by the time she finishes the series we would have enough material for a good five seasons. 😉 Sadly, I haven’t read the rest of your choices, though most of them are on my tbr list.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  11. i have shockingly only read Cinder. Looks like I have some books to add to my TBR list! I love books that would make great movies!

Leave a Reply

