Mondays With Megan 9/16/13

Another Monday, another list. This is going to be a short one because I am in a reading slump. I have tried to ignore it, but it’s time to face the facts. I’m in a slump. Often this is a frustrating and uncomfortable spot to be in, but I am actually kind of ok with it right now. I am just waiting for THE book to come along. The ONE that will occupy both my thoughts and my free time. It’s out there and I will find it. Eventually. Until then, I will keep reading in random fits and starts. I will continue to pick books up and set them aside. It’s fine. So, I have come to terms with my reading (or lack thereof)…which means my Monday list is so sad and small. But, here goes! You’ll find heftier lists at Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

IMWAYR mondayreading

Finished:

good mood diet charmed coldest

This sad offering says a lot about my state of mind last week. I read a diet book?? It said Good Mood on the cover and I was sold! I also finished the third book in the Jessica Darling series. I did not like this one as much as the first two, but I am invested enough to see the series to the end. I also finally finished The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. I don’t know what to say. First of all, there is nothing wildly new here. Also, the pacing was weird. I really struggled with the first 2/3 and then got into a little more at the end. It was not horrible, but it was not unbelievably awesome. I might have to check out the short story version.

Audiobooks: *still*

at home beautiful ruins

I am enjoying At Home by Bill Bryson. It is fascinating and low-maintenance. Just what I need right now. As for Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter-there is a lot going on here and I am still not sure how I feel about all of it!

Currently Reading:

rose under fire where'd you go possibility dogs another little piece

I am still working on Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein. Still. Why? It just picked up speed! I am technically still working on The Possibility Dogs by Susannah Charleson, but I haven’t picked it up all week. Instead, I started Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple, which is fun so far. I also started Another Little Piece by Kate Kayrus Quinn. I am not sure I am going to stick with this one. It’s kind of like it was written by a crazy person. It’s weird and kind of difficult to read.

I have my eye on these:

monsters united we spy all our yesterdays

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Mondays With Megan 9/16/13

  1. You should try Flawless Ruins by Kieryn Nicolas. I’m a little over half way through and I’m loving it!

  2. Looking forward to reading Rose Under Fire myself! My blog partner said somewhat similar things about The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – not sure if that will be a read for me for a while.

    What We Read

  3. I want to read All Our Yesterdays! I hope you enjoy your picks.

    Check out Our Monday Post

    Xoxo. Daisel @ Owl Always Be Reading

  4. I’d like to read Where’s You go Bernadette
    Have a great reading week,

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  5. Thank you for sharing your candid thoughts about the new Holly Black title. 🙂 Have a great reading week ahead of you!

Leave a Reply

